CCW Gun Laws in Alaska

Alaska Handgun Permit

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • Resident of Alaska and have lived in the state for more than 90 days.
  • Eligible under federal and state regulations to possess a firearm.
  • Not been convicted of two or more Class A misdemeanors of Alaska or similar laws in any other jurisdiction within the six years immediately preceding the application.
  • Not be currently under order nor in the three years immediately preceding the application have been under order to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program.
  • Successfully complete an approved handgun competency course within the 12 months prior to the application.
  • Does not suffer a physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun.
  • Federal Law – Lists the following as prohibited persons

APPLICATION

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;

  1. Complete a firearm’s course within 12 months of application.
  2. Download the application form.
  3. You will need the following documents;
    • Two complete sets of fingerprints
    • One frontal view color photograph of the person taken within the preceding 30 days that includes the head and shoulders of the person.
    • Valid Alaska driver’s license or identification card.
  4. Complete the application in writing and apply in person at an office of the Alaska State Troopers.
  5. You will be notified within 30 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.
  • Non-Resident permits are not issued in Alaska.
  • You can have a permit marked NICS Exempt so that no background check is required when purchasing a firearm. To do this you must file form 12-299-89 NICS EXEMPT SUPPLEMENT.

AS 18.65.700 – Permit to Carry a Concealed Handgun
Handgun Permit application form

RENEWAL

  • Permits will expire on the permit holder’s birthday in the fifth year after issuance.
  • Permits can be renewed within 90 days before their expiration date.
  • Late renewals are allowed up to 60 days after the expiration date but there will be an extra charge increasing the cost to $50.
  • If a permit has not been renewed within 60 days after the expiration date the holder must go through the new permit process.
  • Expired permits do not need to be returned.
  • The renewal form can be downloaded below.

AS 18.65.700 (d) – CCW permit expiration date
Handgun Permit renewal form

FEE’S

  • $0
    New Permit
  • $0
    Renewal
  • $0
    Late Renewal

Accepted forms of payment
Money order, Cashier’s check, Personal check – made out to the State of Alaska

Permit fees are not refundable if the application is not approved.

DASHBOARD

Carry in
Vehicle

YES

Must Notify Officer

YES

Carry In state parks allowed

YES

permitless
carry

YES

Open carry allowed

YES

restaurant
carry

YES

no handgun
signs enforced

YES

Minimum
0
Age required
Active Concealed
0
carry permits
% population
0%
with a permit

State Rating

Skill Bar Title
Excellent

Friendliness of gun laws

Unrestricted

No permit is required within Alaska

Shall Issue

Policy retained for reciprocity reasons

Permit Life

Valid for 5 years

Issued To

Residents only

0
states honor alaska permit
0
state Permits alaska honors
$0
initial handgun permit fee
0
years permit
is valid

CCW Reciprocity Map

ALASKA

Map Key

  • Permit Honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Only if issued after 1/14/13
  • Issuing state

Overview of Gun Laws

state seal of alaska The gun laws in Alaska would rate as some of the most permissive in the United States. Any person in Alaska 21 years of age or older and who can legally possess a firearm can conceal carry a firearm, a permit is not required. Residents who want to carry a firearm in other states can obtain a concealed carry permit to use in states with which Alaska has a reciprocity agreement. Non-resident permits are not available, however, the permitless carry law also applies to non-residents while they are in Alaska.

Gun Purchases

There are no requirements with gun laws in Alaska to have a permit to purchase firearms such as handguns, rifles, and shotguns. Background checks are submitted if you do not have a concealed carry permit with NICS exemption status.

Pre-emption

The authority to regulate firearms is reserved to the state legislature 18.65.778. A municipality may not restrict the carrying of a concealed handgun.

Reciprocity in Alaska

How reciprocity works in Alaska

  • All out-of-state permits are honored by Alaska provided the holder is at least 21 years old.
  • Any person in Alaska who is legally entitled to carry a firearm is allowed to carry it concealed without a permit.

Signed reciprocity agreements

Alaska has signed reciprocity agreements with the seven states listed below. The agreements can be viewed at the Department of Public Safety website by clicking on the above link.

Arizona, Florida, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota

gun laws in alaska are made in the state capitol building
18.65.748 Alaska Statute – Permit holders from other jurisdictions considered Alaska permit holders

A person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun from another state or a political subdivision of another state is a permittee under AS 18.65.700 (b) for purposes of AS 18.65.750 – 18.65.765. All other Alaska statutes apply to the permit holder. Permit holders must be 21 years old or older to be valid in Alaska.

18.65.775 Alaska Statute

Requires the Department of Public Safety to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states that have the legal authority to enter into such agreements so that Alaska Concealed Handgun permittees may carry concealed handguns in those other states.

Notes

  • Alaska has stated they will only honor the Enhanced Permit from Idaho.
  • Wisconsin will only honor Alaskan permits issued after 1/14/13
  • Oklahoma allows residents of Alaska to conceal carry without a permit. You are required to have Alaska state ID on you at all times.

State Reciprocity List

0
STATES
Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
0
states
Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

0
states
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, Washington D.C.

Pointers: Alaska Gun Laws

Where Can I Conceal Carry?

Places CCW Carry is Off-Limits

  • School bus
  • Public or private school for grades K-12, including the school grounds and parking lot
  • Any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for consumption on the premises, except a restaurant where the person carrying the firearm did not consume intoxicating liquor.
  • Any licensed child care facility if the facility is other than a private residence.
  • Courtroom or office of the Alaska Court System, or within a courthouse that is occupied only by the Alaska Court System and other Justice-related agencies.
  • Within a domestic violence or sexual assault shelter that receives funding from the state.
  • Within another person’s residence.
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

AS 11.61.220 – Banned Places
7 AAC 10.1080 – Firearms and Ammunition

Places CCW Carry is Allowed

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed above

Gun Laws To Know

YES – Without a permit
Anyone who is at least 21 years of age and is allowed to legally possess a firearm can carry the weapon concealed or openly in a vehicle. You must inform law enforcement you are carrying the firearm if stopped by them. An officer can secure your firearm until after the stop.

Minimum Age to Transport a Handgun
To possess and transport a handgun without a permit a person must be a minimum of 16 years old. The handgun must be unloaded and secured in a vehicle. This conflicts with Federal law which states the minimum age to possess a firearm is 18.

The Law
AS 11.61.220 – Alaska
18 USC 922(x) – Federal law on transferring and possession of firearm by juvenile.
AS 18.65.800 – Possession of firearms in motor vehicles

YES – Without a permit

There are no Alaska open carry laws, the law simply does not mention open carry which means it is legal for any person to open carry a firearm if they are legally allowed to possess the firearm. The minimum age to open carry is 16. This conflicts with federal law which prevents anyone under 18 from possessing a firearm. If the owner of a property asks you to leave you are required by law to leave. You must also inform law enforcement you are carrying a handgun if stopped by them while in a vehicle.

YES – Must Inform Officer

According to Alaska gun laws you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. There is nothing in the law to say you must carry a permit but we always recommend that you carry the permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun.

The Law
AS 11.61.220
– Alaska

YES

No permit is required in Alaska to conceal carry a firearm if a person is 21 years or older and legally allowed to possess a handgun.

YES

It is legal to carry in the following areas;

State Parks:    YES     AS 11.61.220 
State/National Forests:    YES      AS 11.61.220
State Game Management Units:    YES
Road Side Rest Areas:   YES      AS 11.61.220

YES

In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol

Places that serve alcohol are listed as off-limit for persons carrying loaded firearms. The law makes an exception for restaurants that serve only beer or wine (but not liquor) if alcohol is not consumed.

Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.

The Law
AS 11.61.220

YES

Alaska gun laws give “No Weapons” signs the force of law. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

The Law
13 AAC 30.110. Notification of Places Where Concealed Handguns May not be Carried

(b) Nothing in this chapter or in AS 18.65.700 – 18.65.790 precludes a person from posting, to the extent allowed by law, a notice regarding the carrying of a concealed handgun.

Permitless Carry States


Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia have “Permitless Carry.” If you can legally possess a firearm then you may carry it concealed in those states without a Permit/License.

History of Gun Laws in Alaska

Learn Alaska’s gun history

The state of Alaska was the first to introduce Constitutional carry laws (permitless carry) in 2003. The law was based on those in Vermont often called “Vermont Carry”. Governor Frank Murkowski signed Bill 102 into effect on the 11 June 2003, thus ending the requirement for Alaskan residents to have a permit for concealed carry. The Bill simply changed the definition of the crime carrying a concealed weapon. The law became effective on September 9, 2003, giving Alaska some of the most permissive gun laws in the United States. This started a trend with other states towards Constitutional carry laws. You can click on this link to a concealed carry history map to see how this trend has progressed since Alaska enacted its constitutional carry law.

If you would like to read more about the history of concealed carry in the United States then please check out this article at Wikipedia.

Alaska Gun Laws

“A well regulated militia been necessary to the security of a free state. The right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed. The individual right to keep and bear arms shall not be denied or infringed by the State or a political subdivision of the state.”
(Article I § 1.19)

Laws relating to concealed carry

AS 11.61.220. Misconduct Involving Weapons in the Fifth Degree.
(a) A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree if the person
(1) is 21 years of age or older and knowingly possesses a deadly weapon, other than an ordinary pocket knife or a defensive weapon,
(A) that is concealed on the person, and, when contacted by a peace officer, the person fails to
(i) immediately inform the peace officer of that possession; or
(ii) allow the peace officer to secure the deadly weapon, or fails to secure the weapon at the direction of the peace officer, during the duration of the contact;
(B) that is concealed on the person within the residence of another person unless the person has first obtained the express permission of an adult residing there to bring a concealed deadly weapon within the residence;
(2) knowingly possesses a loaded firearm on the person in any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for consumption on the premises;
(3) being an unemancipated minor under 16 years of age, possesses a firearm without the consent of a parent or guardian of the minor;
(4) knowingly possesses a firearm
(A) within the grounds of or on a parking lot immediately adjacent to an entity, other than a private residence, licensed as a child care facility under AS 47.32 or recognized by the federal government for the care of children, except that a person 21 years of age or older may possess an unloaded firearm in the trunk of a motor vehicle or encased in a closed container of a motor vehicle;
(B) within a
(i) courtroom or office of the Alaska Court System; or
(ii) courthouse that is occupied only by the Alaska Court System and other justice- related agencies; or (C) within a domestic violence or sexual assault shelter that receives funding from the state;
(5) [Repealed, Sec. 7 ch 54 SLA 2013].
(6) is less than 21 years of age and knowingly possesses a deadly weapon, other than an ordinary pocket knife or a defensive weapon, that is concealed on the person.
(b) In a prosecution under (a)(6) of this section, it is an affirmative defense that the defendant, at the time of possession, was
(1) in the defendant’s dwelling or on land owned or leased by the defendant appurtenant to the dwelling; or
(2) actually engaged in lawful hunting, fishing, trapping, or other lawful outdoor activity that necessarily involves the carrying of a weapon for personal protection.
(c) The provisions of (a)(2) and (4) of this section do not apply to a peace officer acting within the scope and authority of the officer’s employment.
(d) In a prosecution under (a)(2) of this section, it is
(1) an affirmative defense that
(A) [Repealed, Sec. 7 ch 62 SLA 2003].
(B) the loaded firearm was a concealed handgun as defined in AS 18.65.790; and
(C) the possession occurred at a place designated as a restaurant for the purposes of AS04.16.049 and the defendant did not consume intoxicating liquor at the place;
(2) a defense that the defendant, at the time of possession, was on business premises
(A) owned by or leased by the defendant; or
(B) in the course of the defendant’s employment for the owner or lessee of those premises.
(e) For purposes of this section, a deadly weapon on a person is concealed if it is covered or enclosed in any manner so that an observer cannot determine that it is a weapon without removing it from that which covers or encloses it or without opening, lifting, or removing that which covers or encloses it; a deadly weapon on a person is not concealed if it is an unloaded firearm encased in a closed container designed for transporting firearms.
(f) For purposes of (a)(2) and (e) of this section, a firearm is loaded if the
(1) firing chamber, magazine, clip, or cylinder of the firearm contains a cartridge; and
(2) chamber, magazine, clip, or cylinder is installed in or on the firearm.
(g) The provisions of (a)(1) and (6) of this section do not apply to a
(1) peace officer of this state or a municipality of this state acting within the scope and authority of the officer’s employment;
(2) peace officer employed by another state or a political subdivision of another state who, at the time of the possession, is
(A) certified as a peace officer by the other state; and
(B) acting within the scope and authority of the officer’s employment; or
(3) police officer of this state or a police officer or chief administrative officer of a municipality of this state; in this paragraph, “police officer” and “chief administrative officer” have the meanings given in AS 18.65.290.
(h) In a prosecution
(1) under (a)(4)(B) of this section, it is a defense that the defendant, at the time of possession, was authorized to possess the firearm under a rule of court;
(2) under (a)(4)(C) of this section, it is a defense that the defendant, at the time of possession, was authorized in writing by the administrator of the shelter to possess the firearm.
(i) In (a)(1) of this section, “contacted by a peace officer” means stopped, detained, questioned, or addressed in person by the peace officer for an official purpose.
(j) Misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree is a class B misdemeanor.
AS 18.65.800. Possession of Firearms in Motor Vehicles.
(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the state, a municipality, or a person may not adopt or enforce a law, ordinance, policy, or rule that prohibits or has the effect of prohibiting an individual from possessing a firearm while that individual is within a motor vehicle or prohibiting an individual from storing a firearm that is locked in the individual’s motor vehicle while the motor vehicle is otherwise legally parked in or on state or municipal property or another person’s property. This section applies only to possession of a firearm by an individual who may legally possess a firearm under state and federal law.

(b) This section does not limit a person’s rights or remedies under any other law.

(c) The state, a municipality, or a person is not liable for any injury or damage resulting from the storage of a firearm in the vehicle of another individual in accordance with this section.

(d) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, an employer or its agent may prohibit the possession of firearms within a secured restricted access area, as defined in AS 29.35.145 (e)(2), in a vehicle owned, leased, or rented by the employer or its agent or in a parking lot owned or controlled by the employer within 300 feet of the secured restricted access area that does not include common areas of ingress and egress open to the general public. The employer or its agent shall post conspicuous notice of the prohibition against possession of firearms at each entrance to the restricted access area and affected parking area.

AS 11.61.220. Misconduct Involving Weapons in the Fifth Degree.

(e) For purposes of this section, a deadly weapon on a person is concealed if it is covered or enclosed in any manner so that an observer cannot determine that it is a weapon without removing it from that which covers or encloses it or without opening, lifting, or removing that which covers or encloses it; a deadly weapon on a person is not concealed if it is an unloaded firearm encased in a closed container designed for transporting firearms.

(f) For purposes of (a)(2) and (e) of this section, a firearm is loaded if the

(1) firing chamber, magazine, clip, or cylinder of the firearm contains a cartridge; and
(2) chamber, magazine, clip, or cylinder is installed in or on the firearm.

AS 11.61.220 – Misconduct involving weapons

Any person who is 21 or over can be charged if they do not do as follows;

  • fails to immediately inform a peace officer that s/he is carrying a concealed handgun
  • fails to allow the officer to secure the weapon or fails to secure the weapon at the direction of the peace officer,

AS 18.65.778 Municipal Preemption.

A municipality may not restrict the carrying of a concealed handgun.

11.61.220. Misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree.

(B) that is concealed on the person within the residence of another person unless the person has first obtained the express permission of an adult residing there to bring a concealed deadly weapon within the residence;
(2) knowingly possesses a loaded firearm on the person in any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for consumption on the premises;
(4) knowingly possesses a firearm

(A) within the grounds of or on a parking lot immediately adjacent to an entity, other than a private residence, licensed as a child care facility under AS 47.32 or recognized by the federal government for the care of children, except that a person 21 years of age or older may possess an unloaded firearm in the trunk of a motor vehicle or encased in a closed container of a motor vehicle;
(B) within a

(i) courtroom or office of the Alaska Court System; or
(ii) courthouse that is occupied only by the Alaska Court System and other justice-related agencies; or

(C) within a domestic violence or sexual assault shelter that receives funding from the state

7 AAC 10.1080. Firearms and ammunition

(a) Firearms and ammunition are prohibited in an assisted living home licensed for six or more residents, and in a child care center, a residential child care facility, and a maternity home.

Frequently Asked Questions

Concealed carry permits are issued by the Alaska State Police.
30 Days

The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 30 days of the application being received.

Application fees for concealed carry permits are not refundable.
Any change of address requires you to notify the Department of Public Safety within 30 days.
You will need to file a replacement form with any certified copies of court or public documents supporting your name change. There is a fee of $25.
Add some content to your accordion item here.
You will need to complete a firearms training course and then file an application within 12 months of completing the course. You must deliver the application in person to a state trooper office.
You only need a permit if you plan on travelling out-of-state with your firearm. You will need to confirm the state you are traveling to honors an Alaska permit.
No, you will need ID to prove you are the person on the application.
No, you must be a resident of Alaska to renew your permit.
No, permits can only be issued to persons who have been in Alaska at least 90 days and intend to remain in Alaska.

Get In Touch

Alaska Department of Public Safety


Permits and Licensing Unit

Hours



Monday – Friday 8am – 4:30pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact



Address 5700 E. Tudor Road

CityAnchorage, AK 99507

Phone(907) 269-0392

Updates & Data

DATEDETAILS
10/12/17Updated Ohio page, added new sections to statistics page
10/5/17Added video section to Florida page
10/3/17Updated Nevada page
10/2/17Updated Georgia page
9/30/17Updated Texas page
9/30/17Entered new figures for latest 2017 NICS checks on Statistics page
9/29/17Updated Pennsylvania page
9/26/17Updated Florida page, added new links, forms and sections
7/22/17updated permit numbers to latest figures
6/29/17Updated permit numbers to 14,917,279
6/17/17updated interface, added new travel info and other sections.
  • Crime Prevention Research Center
  • Eric Gaffney, Records & Licensing Supervisor, Division of Statewide Services, Alaska Department of Public Safety (907) 269-5634
  • Alaska Department of Public Safety, Permits & Licensing – Concealed Handgun Permits

Notes
The percentage of population with a permit is actually 1.6%, we had to round it off to 2% as our counter will only accept whole numbers.
More detailed information can be found on the Statistics page.
All data is updated once per year.

Leave a Comment