Alabama Gun Laws
Alabama concealed carry laws are liberal and allow concealed carry permits to be issued at the county level. Applications can be made at the local Sheriff's office in your county of residence. Applicants must be at least 18 years or older and meet other criteria although there is no requirement for a firearms training course. The application process in Alabama is fairly easy and the sheriff must either grant or deny your application for a permit within 30 days of your submission. Fees for new CCW permits and renewals vary across counties. Some counties will notify holders of permits that they are due for renewal, however there are also counties that will not contact you at all.
Alabama CCW Quick Facts
LICENSE ISSUED TO
Alabama Handgun Permit
- Alabama CCW Pistol Permit Requirements
- Alabama CCW Pistol Permit Application
- Alabama CCW Pistol Permit Renewals
- Alabama CCW Pistol Permit Fee's
- Must be at least 18 years of age.
- Reside in the county where you file the application
- Have no convictions of violence
- Must be a US citizen or legal alien.
- Must not be a drug addict or habitual drunkard.
- Must be of sound mind and not have been involuntarily admitted to psychiatric or drug treatment facility.
- Federal Law Requirements
Under Alabama law a person with any of the following convictions are banned from possessing a weapon;
Murder, manslaughter, rape, mayhem, assault with intent to commit robbery or murder, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, any class A or B felony.
Follow these steps to obtain a permit;
- Obtain the application form from your local county Sheriff.
- Complete the form.
- Submit your application to the Sheriffs Office in the county you reside in.
- You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
- You must renew an Alabama Pistol Permit before it’s expiry date.
- The renewal can be done by your local County Sheriff.
- Some counties will advice you in advance that your permit needs to be renewed. However, do not rely on a renewal notice being sent as not all counties send out reminders.
Renewal fee’s vary between counties.
You can select how long the permit is valid for, 1-5 years. Fees are set by the local Sheriff and are around $20 per year. They do vary between counties but are similar to the fees here for Shelby County;
|Years Permit required||Original||Renewal|
Alabama CCW Dashboard
Alabama Reciprocity Map
Alabama CCW permit recognition
Alabama CCW Reciprocity
Alabama Reciprocity List
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Massachusetts, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington
How Reciprocity Works In Alabama
Alabama honors all out of state concealed carry permits pursuant to section 13A-11-85 of the Alabama Code. Any person who has a concealed carry permit in another U.S. state can legally carry their firearm in Alabama. They will be subject to Alabama gun laws while in that state.
Alabama Reciprocity Agreements
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida,Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, West Virginia, Wyoming
- Wisconsin will only accept Alabama concealed carry permits if they were issued after the 14 January, 2013.
- Alabama will not honor a concealed carry permit from New York City.
(a) A person licensed to carry a handgun in any state shall be authorized to carry a handgun in this state. This section shall apply to a license holder from another state only while the license holder is not a resident of this state. A license holder from another state shall carry the handgun in compliance with the laws of this state.
(b) The Attorney General is authorized to enter into reciprocal agreements with other states for the mutual recognition of licenses to carry handguns and shall periodically publish a list of states which recognize licenses issued pursuant to Section 13A-11-75.
Alabama Concealed Carry Forms
Alabama Form Downloads
Pointers: Alabama Handgun Laws
Alabama: Places Off-Limits for CCW
Places Off Limits in Alabama
- Premises of a public school composed of K12 grades
- School bus used for K12 grades
- Demonstrations at public places
- University of Alabama
- Building of a police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
- Inside any facility hosting a professional athletic event not related to firearms which is sponsored by a private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of post secondary education.
- Inside a facility which provides inpatient or custodial care of those with psychiatric, mental, or emotional disorders.
- Inside a courthouse or courthouse annex
- Prison, jail, halfway house, community corrections facility, or other detention facility for those who have been charged with or convicted of a criminal or juvenile offense.
- Building in which a District Attorney’s office is located
- Building in which a county commission or city council is currently having a meeting
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Places CCW is Allowed in Alabama
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Alabama Concealed Carry Laws
YES/NO – Without a permit
Without a permit, you can still legally carry in a vehicle but the handgun must be unloaded and locked in a compartment or container that is in or affixed securely to the vehicle and out of reach of the driver and any passenger in the vehicle.
You must have a Permit to carry a loaded handgun in any vehicle.
13A-11-73(b) – Alabama Code
YES – Without a permit
Open carry is legal in Alabama if a person is at least 18 years old and legally able to posses a firearm. You must have a permit/license to carry a loaded gun in a vehicle.
There is nothing in Alabama gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. The law does require that you carry your permit when carrying a concealed firearm in a vehicle or on your person.
13A-11-73 – Alabama Code
NOAlabama is not a Constitutional Carry state yet. The Senate has passed laws in favor of permitless carry but they still have a few hurdles to go through before becoming law.
YESIt is legal to carry in the following areas;
- State Parks: YES – Admin Code 220.5.08 (only handguns)
- State/National Forests: YES
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – Admin Code 220.2 (only handguns)
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES
Admin Code 220-5-.08
Admin Code 220-2
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Alabama gun laws. We have not been able to find any further information so advise you to follow the recommendation below.
GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
Alabama Gun Sales & Preemption
Private Gun Sales
Preemption in Alabama
Alabama Gun Statutes
(Article I §26)
Alabama Laws Relating To Concealed Carry
(1) Inside the building of a police, sheriff, or highway patrol station.
(2) Inside or on the premises of a prison, jail, halfway house, community corrections facility, or other detention facility for those who have been charged with or convicted of a criminal or juvenile offense.
(3) Inside of a facility which provides inpatient or custodial care of those with psychiatric, mental, or
(4) Inside a courthouse, courthouse annex, a building in which a District Attorney’s office is located, or a building in which a county commission or city council is currently having a regularly scheduled or specially called meeting.
(5) Inside any facility hosting an athletic event not related to or involving firearms which is sponsored by a private or public elementary or secondary school or any private or public institution of post secondary education, unless the person has a permit issued under Section 13A-11-75(a)(1) or recognized under Section 13A-11-85.
(6) Inside any facility hosting a professional athletic event not related to or involving firearms, unless the person has a permit issued under Section 13A-11-75(a)(1) or recognized under Section 13A-11-85.
(b) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (a), a person, including a person with a permit issued under Section 13A-11-75(a)(1) or recognized under Section 13A-11-85, may not, without the express permission of a person or entity with authority over the premises, knowingly possess or carry a firearm inside any building or facility to which access of unauthorized persons and prohibited articles is limited during normal hours of operation by the continuous posting of guards and the use of other security features, including, but not limited to, magnetometers, key cards, bio-metric screening devices, or turnstiles or other physical barriers. Nothing in this subsection otherwise restricts the possession, transportation, or storage of a lawfully possessed firearm or ammunition in an employee’s privately-owned motor vehicle while parked or operated in a public or private parking area provided the employee complies with the requirements of Section 13A-11-90.
(c) The person or entity with authority over the premises set forth in subsections (a)(1)-(6) and subsection (b) shall place a notice at the public entrances of such premises or buildings alerting those entering that firearms are prohibited.
(d) Except as provided in subsections (a)(5) and (a)(6), any firearm on the premises of any facility set forth in subsection (a)(1), or subsections (a)(4)-(6), or subsection (b) must be kept from ordinary observation and locked within a compartment or in the interior of the person’s motor vehicle or in a compartment or container securely affixed to the motor vehicle.
(c) Subject to the exceptions provided by Section 13A-11-74, no person shall knowingly with intent to do bodily harm carry or possess a deadly weapon on the premises of a public school.
(d) Possession of a deadly weapon with the intent to do bodily harm on the premises of a public school in violation of subsection (c) of this section is a Class C felony.
(e) School security personnel and school resource officers qualified under subsection (a) of Section 16-1- 44.1, employed by a local board of education, and authorized by the employing local board of education to carry a deadly weapon while on duty are exempt from subsection (c) of this section. Law enforcement officers are exempt from this section, and persons with pistol permits issued pursuant to Section 13A-11- 75, are exempt from subsection (c) of this section.
(a) For the purposes of this section, the following words and phrases shall have the meanings respectively ascribed to them in this subsection, except in those instances where the context clearly indicates a different meaning:
(1) Demonstration. Demonstrating, picketing, speech making or marching, holding of vigils and all other like forms of conduct which involve the communication or expression of views or grievances engaged in by one or more persons, the conduct of which has the effect, intent or propensity to draw a crowd or onlookers. Such term shall not include casual use of property by visitors or tourists which does not have an intent or propensity to attract a crowd or onlookers.
(2) Firearm. Any pistol, rifle, shotgun or firearm of any kind, whether loaded or not.
(3) Law Enforcement Officer. Any duly appointed and acting federal, state, county or municipal law enforcement officer, peace officer or investigating officer, or any military or militia personnel called out or directed by constituted authority to keep the law and order, and any park ranger while acting as such on the grounds of a public park and who is on regular duty and present to actively police and control the demonstration, and who is assigned this duty by his department or agency. Such term does not include a peace officer on strike or a peace officer not on duty.
(4) Public Place. Any place to which the general public has access and a right to resort for business, entertainment or other lawful purpose, but does not necessarily mean a place devoted solely to the uses of the public. Such term shall include the front or immediate area or parking lot of any store, shop, restaurant, tavern, shopping center or other place of business. Such term shall also include any public building, the grounds of any public building, or within the curtilage of any public building, or in any public parking lot, public street, right-of-way, sidewalk right-of-way, or within any public park or other public grounds.
(b) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than a law enforcement officer, to have in his or her possession or on his or her person or in any vehicle any firearm while participating in or attending any demonstration being held at a public place.
(c) It shall be unlawful for any person, other than a law enforcement officer as defined in subsection (a) of this section, to have in his or her possession or about his or her person or in any vehicle at a point within 1,000 feet of a demonstration at a public place, any firearm after having first been advised by a law enforcement officer that a demonstration was taking place at a public place and after having been ordered by such officer to remove himself or herself from the prescribed area until such time as he or she no longer was in possession of any firearm. This subsection shall not apply to any person in possession of or having on his or her person any firearm within a private dwelling or other private building or structure.
Other CCW Statutes
(a) Except on land under his or her control or in his or her own abode or his or her own fixed place of business, no person shall carry a pistol in any vehicle or concealed on or about his or her person without a permit issued under Section 13A-11-75(a)(1) or recognized under Section 13A-11-85.
(a) A person commits the crime of disorderly conduct if, with intent to cause public inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, or recklessly creating a risk thereof, he or she does any of the following:
(c) It shall be a rebuttable presumption that the mere carrying of a visible pistol, holstered or secured, in a public place, in and of itself, is not a violation of this section.
(d) The authority of a political subdivision to regulate firearms, ammunition, or firearm accessories shall not be inferred from its proprietary authority, home rule status, or any other inherent or general power.
(e) Any existing orders, ordinances, or rules promulgated or enforced contrary to the terms of this section are null and void and any future order, ordinance, or rules shall comply with this section.
(f)(1) A person adversely affected by any order, ordinance, or rule promulgated in violation of this section may file a petition with the Attorney General requesting that he or she bring an action in circuit court for declarative and injunctive relief. The petition must be signed under oath and under penalty of perjury and must include specific details regarding the alleged violations.
(a)(1)a. The sheriff of a county, upon the application of any person residing in that county, may within 30 days from receipt of a complete application and accompanying fee, shall issue or renew a license for such person to carry a pistol in a vehicle or concealed on or about his or her person within this state for one to five year increments, as requested by the person seeking the license, from date of issue, unless the sheriff determines, based upon reasonable suspicion, that there is a credible risk that the person will use a weapon unlawfully or in such other manner that would endanger the person’s self or others.
Alabama Concealed Carry FAQ's
Alabama CCW Contact
Jefferson County Sheriff
Monday – Friday 8am – 4:30pm
Address 2200 Rev. Abraham Woods Jr Blvd.
CityBirmingham, AL 35203
Phone (205) 325-5728
Updates & Data Sources
|1/19/18||Updated Tennessee page|
|1/14/18||Update Washington, Colorado pages|
|1/7/18||Updated South Carolina, DC pages|
|1/1/18||Updated New York page|
|12/28/17||Updated Arizona pge|
|12/25/17||Updated Utah page to mobile friendly design, will roll out to other pages over next few months.|
|12/9/17||Updated Texas page|
|12/6/17||Updated California and Hawaii page, Hawaii page only partially completed.|
|12/1/17||Ohio page finished|
|11/24/17||Updated Washington DC to Shall Issue|
|11/8/17||Update Illinois page|
|11/1/17||Updated Florida and Alabama pages|
|10/12/17||Updated Ohio page, added new sections to statistics page|
|10/5/17||Added video section to Florida page|
|10/3/17||Updated Nevada page|
|10/2/17||Updated Georgia page|
|9/30/17||Updated Texas page|
|9/30/17||Entered new figures for latest 2017 NICS checks on Statistics page|
|9/29/17||Updated Pennsylvania page|
|9/26/17||Updated Florida page, added new links, forms and sections|
|7/22/17||updated permit numbers to latest figures|
|6/29/17||Updated permit numbers to 14,917,279|
|6/17/17||updated interface, added new travel info and other sections.|
- Crime Prevention research Center
- Estimate of active concealed carry permits was made with data from the following counties;
- Baldwin County
- Cullman County
- Madison County
- Montgomery County
- Jackson County
- Jefferson County
- Shelby County