GUN LAWS IN FLORIDA
Complete Guide To CCW Laws
If you reside in Florida you can file your license application at a Fast Track Office. Everything required for your application can be obtained in these offices, letting you complete the process in one trip. All applicants are required to complete a firearms training course.
Florida CCW Quick Facts
Florida CCW Dashboard
Florida CCW Reciprocity
How Reciprocity Works in Florida
State statutes allow Florida to accept licenses from other states only if that state agrees to honor a Florida concealed carry license. Florida reciprocity law is governed by section 790.015 of the Florida statutes.
Florida currently has reciprocity agreements with 36 other states. A Florida concealed carry license is valid in all these states with a few exceptions as noted at the bottom of this section.
Firearms laws vary with each state and a Florida license holder will be subject to the laws of whatever state they are travelling in.
Florida Reciprocity State's
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming
Florida permit holders are allowed to carry their firearm in Vermont.
Alabama, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Maine, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Wyoming
Colorado, Michigan, Maine, New Hampshire, Pennsylvania, South Carolina
Arizona, Idaho, Indiana, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia
Florida Handgun Permit
- Florida CCW Handgun Permit Requirements
- Florida CCW Handgun Permit Application
- Florida CCW Handgun Permit Renewal
- Florida CCW Handgun Permit Fee's
- Must be at least 21 years old
- You have completed an approved firearms training class
- You are a U.S. citizen or legal resident alien
- You must reside in the U.S.
- You do not have two or more DUI convictions within the previous 3 years
- No convictions for a violent crime in the last three years, either misdemeanor or felony
- Federal law requirements
These are the minimum requirements to qualify for a Florida concealed carry permit. Full requirement details for a concealed carry permit can be found on the application page.
Follow these steps to obtain a permit;
- Complete your firearm training course if required.
- Decide which method you will submit your application with, either fast track or mail.
- Fast track applications can be made at;
Tax Collectors Offices
You will need to make an appointment.
- When you arrive for your appointment you will be directed to a computer station where you can complete an electronic version of the application form.
- Staff will then scan your fingerprints and take your photo.
- You may be required by some counties to take a psychological test to assess your moral character and judgement.
- You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.
These are the basic steps you will need to take. A more detailed step by step process is explained on our application page.
- About 150 days before your license expires you should receive a renewal notice.
- You can mail the form back or make an online renewal.
- Renewals can be made up to 180 days after the expiration date.
- If the permit has expired more than 180 days after the expiration date applicants will need to apply for a new permit.
Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Renewal
Division of Licensing
P.O. Box 6387
Tallahassee, FL 323146387
We have a step by step guide for renewing your Florida concealed carry permit. This includes a video on how to make online renewals and more…
|Individual - Resident||$97||$45|
|Individual - Non-Resident||$97||$87|
|Florida Law Enforcement Officer||$55||$45|
|Florida Retired Law Enforcement Officer|
(retired within 1 year)
|Florida Retired Law Enforcement Officer|
(retired more than 1 year)
|Consular Security Official||$300||$300|
- Duplication/Revised Fee: $15
- All the listed fees are inclusive of a $42 fingerprint processing fee
- Tax collectors may also collect these additional fees;
- New Applications: $22
- Renewals: $12
Florida Gun Policy
Permit Issued To
Florida CCW Application & Renewal
Need More Help?
Florida Handgun Forms
Download Your Forms
Florida: Places Off-Limits for CCW
Places Off-Limits in Florida
- Any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station
- Any detention facility, prison, or jail
- Any courthouse or courtroom
- Any polling place
- Any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district
- Any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof
- Any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms
- Any elementary or secondary school facility or administration building
- Any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises
- Any area of a vocational-technical center
- Any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05
- Any college or university facility
- Inside the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Places Allowed in Florida
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state, except those listed as Off-Limits
Pointers: Florida CCW
Florida Open Carry
The Facts on Florida Open Carry
As a general rule Florida open carry is illegal and the law bans handguns from being carried openly even with a valid permit. Open carry has not always been banned in Florida's gun history but currently Florida is one of five states in the US that ban open carry. The Supreme Court in November 2017 upheld the ban on open carry in Florida by refusing to here a case challenging the law.
When Is Open Carry Legal?
There are under Florida Statute 790.25 certain limited conditions in which open carry is legal. Such conditions would be if you are;
- traveling to or engaged in camping
- hunting or
- lawful target shooting
790.25 Lawful Ownership, Possession, and use of Firearms and Other Weapons
- (h) A person engaged in fishing, camping, or lawful hunting or going to or returning from a fishing, camping, or lawful hunting expedition;
- (i) A person engaged in the business of manufacturing, repairing, or dealing in firearms, or the agent or representative of any such person while engaged in the lawful course of such business;
- (j) A person firing weapons for testing or target practice under safe conditions and in a safe place not prohibited by law or going to or from such place;
- (k) A person firing weapons in a safe and secure indoor range for testing and target practice;
Open carry is only permitted in the above limited situations.
How Will The Police React to Open Carry in Florida?
As seen in the following video clip you will be stopped by law enforcement and questioned if seen open carrying a firearm in Florida. Even if you are engaged in legal activities where open carry is permitted such as fishing, hunting, and camping you will still likely raise unwanted attention from the police who are likely to fire some questions your way (hopefully not bullets)!
Other Firearm Laws
Private sales of guns in Florida are legal and the transaction does not need to be processed through a licensed dealer as in some other states.
Florida law allows counties to require background checks and a 3 – 5 day waiting period when firearms are sold on property the public have access to such as a gun show. However, these local laws cannot be applied to concealed carry permit holders.
Florida Constitution, Art VIII Sec. 5(b)
Local authorities are prevented from passing laws regulating firearms by the Florida Preemption Statute. This was in the past mostly ignored by city and county authorities due to a lack of penalties until 2011.
In 2011 the Florida Legislature passed a laws imposing penalties on anyone who violated the preemption statute. The penalties ranged from termination of employment, fines, removal from office and more.
A person who uses this law is immune from criminal prosecution or any civil law suite and cannot be arrested by the authorities. Furthermore, if a civil law suite was brought against the person and the court ruled in their favor they would be awarded all cost associated with their defense.
History Of Florida Gun Laws
Learn Florida's Gun History
Florida Concealed Carry Laws
Florida Gun Laws To Know
NO – Must Inform Officer
There is nothing in Florida gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are required by law to carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
Any “No Firearms” signage in Florida generally does not have the law behind it. Unless, the sign is posted in an area that falls within the Off-Limits law. The area must be specifically stated in the section of law as being off limits.
Even if the law does not backup a “No Firearms” sign you can still be arrested for trespass if you enter the property. So its best to not enter any property with such a sign posted.
YES – Without a permitIt is lawful for a person 18 years of age or older to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self-defense or other lawful purposes within the interior of a private vehicle, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. “Securely encased” means in a glove compartment, whether or not locked; snapped in a holster; in a gun case, whether or not locked; in a zippered gun case; or in a closed box or container which requires a lid or cover to be opened for access.
790.17 Minimum age to transport Firearm 18
NO – with or Without a permitOpen Carry is illegal in Florida even if you have a permit/license. Under section 790.25(3)(h)(j)(k) of the Florida statutes there are some limited situations were it is legal to open carry such as traveling to and being engaged in lawful target shooting, fishing, hunting, and camping.
YES/NOIn Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
You are not permitted under Florida law to carry in a bar area that serves alcohol. The law states that “any portion of an establishment that dispenses alcohol…. which is primarily devoted to such purpose”.
So it is widely interpreted in Florida to mean that you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol, as its primary purpose is to dispense food and not alcohol. However, if the restaurant has a bar area you cannot enter that area while carrying a firearm. And you certainly cannot enter a fully licensed bar. That is classed as a misdemeanor with a possible 60 days jail or $500 fine.
If the restaurant has posted a no firearms sign and you enter then you could be charged with armed trespass which is a felony.
(Art. I, § 8)
Florida Off-Limit Statutes
- Any place of nuisance as defined in s. 823.05
- any police, sheriff, or highway patrol station;
- any detention facility, prison, or jail;
- any courthouse; any courtroom, except that nothing in this section would preclude a judge from
- carrying a concealed weapon or determining who will carry a concealed weapon in his or her courtroom;
- any polling place;
- any meeting of the governing body of a county, public school district, municipality, or special district;
- any meeting of the Legislature or a committee thereof;
- any school, college, or professional athletic event not related to firearms;
- Any elementary or secondary school facility or administration building;
- any portion of an establishment licensed to dispense alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, which portion of the establishment is primarily devoted to such purpose;
- any elementary or secondary school facility;
- any area vocational-technical center;
- any college or university facility unless the licensee is a registered student, employee, or faculty member of such college or university and the weapon is a stun gun or non-lethal electric weapon or device designed solely for defensive purposes and the weapon does not fire a dart or projectile;
- inside the passenger terminal and sterile area of any airport, provided that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, which firearm is encased for shipment for purposes of checking such firearm as baggage to be lawfully transported on any aircraft; or
- any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law
(b) A person licensed under this section shall not be prohibited from carrying or storing a firearm in a vehicle for lawful purposes.
Possessing or Discharging Weapons or Firearms at a School-Sponsored Event or on School Property Prohibited; Penalties; Exceptions.—
(2)(a) A person shall not possess any firearm, electric weapon or device, destructive device, or other weapon as defined in s. 790.001(13), including a razor blade or box cutter, except as authorized in support of school-sanctioned activities, at a school-sponsored event or on the property of any school, school bus, or school bus stop; however, a person may carry a firearm:
3. In a vehicle pursuant to s. 790.25(5); except that school districts may adopt written and published policies that waive the exception in this subparagraph for purposes of student and campus parking privileges. For the purposes of this section, “school” means any preschool, elementary school, middle school, junior high school, secondary school, career center, or postsecondary school, whether public or nonpublic.
(1)(a) Except as authorized by law or as specifically authorized by the person in charge of each hospital providing mental health services under this part, it is unlawful to introduce into or upon the grounds of such hospital, or to take or attempt to take or send there from, any of the following articles, which are hereby declared to be contraband for the purposes of this section:
1. Any intoxicating beverage or beverage which causes or may cause an intoxicating effect;
2. Any controlled substance as defined in chapter 893; or
3. Any firearms or deadly weapon.
(b) It is unlawful to transmit to, or attempt to transmit to, or cause or attempt to cause to be transmitted to, or received by, any patient of any hospital providing mental health services under this part any article or thing declared by this section to be contraband, at any place which is outside of the grounds of such hospital, except as authorized by law or as specifically authorized by the person in charge of such hospital.
(2) A person who violates any provision of this section commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
(b) The seaport must provide clear notice of the prohibition against possession of concealed weapons and other contraband material on the premises of the seaport. Any person in a restricted area who has in his or her possession a concealed weapon, or who operates or has possession or control of a vehicle in or upon which a concealed weapon is placed or stored, commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. This paragraph does not apply to active-duty certified federal or state law enforcement personnel or persons so designated by the seaport director in writing.
(1) It is unlawful for any person, except an on-duty law enforcement or conservation officer, to operate a vehicle or A.T.V. in the Savannas unless such person is using the provided ingress or egress to a private holding within the described boundary or using the vehicle or A.T.V. to transport a boat to a public boat www.handgunlaw.us 6 ramp accessible only through state reserve property, or unless the vehicle or A.T.V. is being used in conjunction with a permitted or supervised educational field trip, a wildlife survey, or state agency natural resources management activities.
(2) It is unlawful for any person, except a law enforcement or conservation officer, to have in his or her possession any firearm while within the Savannas except when in compliance with regulations established by the Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission applying to lands within the described boundaries.
(3) Any person who violates this section commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
Unlicensed Carrying of Concealed Weapons or Concealed Firearms.
(1) Except as provided in subsection (3) a person who is not licensed under s. 790.06 and who carries a concealed weapon or electric weapon or device on or about his or her person commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(2) Except as provided in subsection (3), a person who is not licensed under s. 790.06 and who carries a concealed firearm on or about his or her person commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084.
(3) This section does not apply to:
(a) A person who carries a concealed weapon, or a person who may lawfully possess a firearm and who carries a concealed firearm, on or about his or her person while in the act of evacuating during a mandatory evacuation order issued during a state of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to Chapter 252 or declared by a local authority pursuant to Chapter 870. As used in this subsection, the term “in the act of evacuating” means the immediate and urgent movement of a person away from the evacuation zone within 48 hours after a mandatory evacuation is ordered. The 48 hours may be extended by an order issued by the Governor.
(b) A person who carries for purposes of lawful self-defense, in a concealed manner:
1. A self-defense chemical spray.
2. A nonlethal stun gun or dart-firing stun gun or other nonlethal electric weapon or device that is designed solely for defensive purposes.
(4) This section does not preclude any prosecution for the use of an electric weapon or device, a dart-firing stun gun, or a self-defense chemical spray during the commission of any criminal offense under s. 790.07, s. 790.10, s. 790.23, or s. 790.235, or for any other criminal offense.
Other Florida CCW Statutes
- Except as otherwise provided by law and in subsection (2), it is unlawful for any person to openly carry on or about his or her person any firearm or electric weapon or device. It is not a violation of this section for a person licensed to carry a concealed firearm as provided in s. 790.06(1), and who is lawfully carrying a firearm in a concealed manner, to briefly and openly display the firearm to the ordinary sight of another person, unless the firearm is intentionally displayed in an angry or threatening manner, not in necessary self-defense.
- A person may openly carry, for purposes of lawful self-defense:
- (a) A self-defense chemical spray.
- (b) A nonlethal stun gun or dart-firing stun gun or other nonlethal electric weapon or device that is designed solely for defensive purposes.
- Any person violating this section commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775
- Notwithstanding s. 790.01, a nonresident of Florida may carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm while in this state if the nonresident:
- (a) Is 21 years of age or older.
- (b) Has in his or her immediate possession a valid license to carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm issued to the nonresident in his or her state of residence.
- (c) Is a resident of the United States.
- A nonresident is subject to the same laws and restrictions with respect to carrying a concealed weapon or concealed firearm as a resident of Florida who is so licensed.
- If the resident of another state who is the holder of a valid license to carry a concealed weapon or concealed firearm issued in another state establishes legal residence in this state by:
- (a) Registering to vote;
- (b) Making a statement of domicile pursuant to s. 222.17; or
- (c) Filing for homestead tax exemption on property in this state, the license shall remain in effect for 90 days following the date on which the holder of the license establishes legal state residence.
- This section applies only to nonresident concealed weapon or concealed firearm license holders from states that honor Florida concealed weapon or concealed firearm licenses.
- The requirement of paragraph (1)(a) does not apply to a person who:
- (a) Is a service member, as defined in s. 250.01; or
- (b) Is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged under honorable conditions. History.—s. 1, ch. 99-132; s. 2, ch. 2012-108
Lawful Ownership, Possession, and Use of Firearms and Other Weapons
(5) Possession in Private Conveyance.–Notwithstanding subsection (2), it is lawful and is not a violation of s. 790.01 for a person 18 years of age or older to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self defense or other lawful purpose within the interior of a private conveyance, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use. Nothing herein contained prohibits the carrying of a legal firearm other than a handgun anywhere in a private conveyance when such firearm is being carried for a lawful use. Nothing herein contained shall be construed to authorize the carrying of a concealed firearm or other weapon on the person. This subsection shall be liberally construed in favor of the lawful use, ownership, and possession of firearms and other weapons, including lawful self-defense as provided in s. 776.012.
Definitions.– As Used in This Chapter, Except Where the Context Otherwise Requires:
(17) “Securely encased” means in a glove compartment, whether or not locked; snapped in a holster; in a gun case, whether or not locked; in a zippered gun case; or in a closed box or container which requires a lid or cover to be opened for access.
Lawful ownership, possession, and use of firearms and other weapons.—
(1) Declaration of Policy.—The Legislature finds as a matter of public policy and fact that it is necessary to promote firearms safety and to curb and prevent the use of firearms and other weapons in crime and by incompetent persons without prohibiting the lawful use in defense of life, home, and property, and the use by United States or state military organizations, and as otherwise now authorized by law, including the right to use and own firearms for target practice and marksmanship on target practice ranges or other lawful places, and lawful hunting and other lawful purposes.
(3) LAWFUL USES.—The provisions of ss. 790.053 and 790.06 do not apply in the following instances, and, despite such sections, it is lawful for the following persons to own, possess, and lawfully use firearms and other weapons, ammunition, and supplies for lawful purposes:
(h) A person engaged in fishing, camping, or lawful hunting or going to or returning from a fishing, camping, or lawful hunting expedition;
Home protection; use or threatened use of deadly force; presumption of fear of death or great bodily harm.—
(1) A person who is in a dwelling or residence in which the person has a right to be has no duty to retreat and has the right to stand his or her ground and use or threaten to use:
(a) Nondeadly force against another when and to the extent that the person reasonably believes that such conduct is necessary to defend himself or herself or another against the other’s imminent use of unlawful force; or
(b) Deadly force if he or she reasonably believes that using or threatening to use such force is necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm to himself or herself or another or to prevent the imminent commission of a forcible felony.
(2) A person is presumed to have held a reasonable fear of imminent peril of death or great bodily harm to himself or herself or another when using or threatening to use defensive force that is intended or likely to cause death or great bodily harm to another if:
(a) The person against whom the defensive force was used or threatened was in the process of unlawfully and forcefully entering, or had unlawfully and forcibly entered, a dwelling, residence, or occupied vehicle, or if that person had removed or was attempting to remove another against that person’s will from the dwelling, residence, or occupied vehicle; and
(b) The person who uses or threatens to use defensive force knew or had reason to believe that an unlawful and forcible entry or unlawful and forcible act was occurring or had occurred.
(3) The presumption set forth in subsection (2) does not apply if:
(a) The person against whom the defensive force is used or threatened has the right to be in or is a lawful resident of the dwelling, residence, or vehicle, such as an owner, lessee, or titleholder, and there is not an injunction for protection from domestic violence or a written pretrial supervision order of no contact against that person; or
(b) The person or persons sought to be removed is a child or grandchild, or is otherwise in the lawful custody or under the lawful guardianship of, the person against whom the defensive force is used or threatened; or
(c) The person who uses or threatens to use defensive force is engaged in a criminal activity or is using the dwelling, residence, or occupied vehicle to further a criminal activity; or
(d) The person against whom the defensive force is used or threatened is a law enforcement officer, as defined in s. 943.10(14), who enters or attempts to enter a dwelling, residence, or vehicle in the performance of his or her official duties and the officer identified himself or herself in accordance with any applicable law or the person using or threatening to use force knew or reasonably should have known that the person entering or attempting to enter was a law enforcement officer.
(4) A person who unlawfully and by force enters or attempts to enter a person’s dwelling, residence, or occupied vehicle is presumed to be doing so with the intent to commit an unlawful act involving force or violence.
(5) As used in this section, the term:
(a) “Dwelling” means a building or conveyance of any kind, including any attached porch, whether the building or conveyance is temporary or permanent, mobile or immobile, which has a roof over it, including a tent, and is designed to be occupied by people lodging therein at night.
(b) “Residence” means a dwelling in which a person resides either temporarily or permanently or is visiting as an invited guest.
(c) “Vehicle” means a conveyance of any kind, whether or not motorized, which is designed to transport people or property.
(1) Notwithstanding s. 790.06(2)(b), the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall issue a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm under s. 790.06 if the applicant is otherwise qualified and:
(a) Is a service member, as defined in s. 250.01; or
(b) Is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces who was discharged under honorable conditions.
(2) The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall accept fingerprints of an applicant under this section administered by any law enforcement agency, military provost, or other military unit charged with law enforcement duties or as otherwise provided for in 790.06(5)(c).
Field of Regulation of Firearms and Ammunition Preempted.
(1) Preemption.—Except as expressly provided by the State Constitution or general law, the Legislature hereby declares that it is occupying the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition, including the purchase, sale, transfer, taxation, manufacture, ownership, possession, storage, and transportation thereof, to the exclusion of all existing and future county, city, town, or municipal ordinances or any administrative regulations or rules adopted by local or state government relating thereto. Any such existing ordinances, rules, or regulations are hereby declared null and void.
(2) Policy and Intent.—
(a) It is the intent of this section to provide uniform firearms laws in the state; to declare all ordinances and regulations null and void which have been enacted by any jurisdictions other than state and federal, which regulate firearms, ammunition, or components thereof; to prohibit the enactment of any future ordinances or regulations relating to firearms, ammunition, or components thereof unless specifically authorized by this section or general law; and to require local jurisdictions to enforce state firearms laws.
(b) It is further the intent of this section to deter and prevent the violation of this section and the violation of rights protected under the constitution and laws of this state related to firearms, ammunition, or components thereof, by the abuse of official authority that occurs when enactments are passed in violation of state law or under color of local or state authority.
(3) Prohibitions; Penalties.—
(a) Any person, county, agency, municipality, district, or other entity that violates the Legislature’s occupation of the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition, as declared in subsection (1), by enacting or causing to be enforced any local ordinance or administrative rule or regulation impinging upon such exclusive occupation of the field shall be liable as set forth herein.
(b) If any county, city, town, or other local government violates this section, the court shall declare the improper ordinance, regulation, or rule invalid and issue a permanent injunction against the local government prohibiting it from enforcing such ordinance, regulation, or rule. It is no defense that in enacting the ordinance, regulation, or rule the local government was acting in good faith or upon advice of counsel.
(c) If the court determines that a violation was knowing and willful, the court shall assess a civil fine of up to $5,000 against the elected or appointed local government official or officials or administrative agency head under whose jurisdiction the violation occurred.
(d) Except as required by applicable law, public funds may not be used to defend or reimburse the unlawful conduct of any person found to have knowingly and willfully violated this section.
(e) A knowing and willful violation of any provision of this section by a person acting in an official capacity for any entity enacting or causing to be enforced a local ordinance or administrative rule or regulation prohibited under paragraph (a) or otherwise under color of law shall be cause for termination of employment or contract or removal from office by the Governor.
(f) A person or an organization whose membership is adversely affected by any ordinance, regulation, measure, directive, rule, enactment, order, or policy promulgated or caused to be enforced in violation of this section may file suit against any county, agency, municipality, district, or other entity in any court of this state having jurisdiction over any defendant to the suit for declaratory and injunctive relief and for actual damages, as limited herein, caused by the violation. A court shall award the prevailing plaintiff in any such suit:
1. Reasonable attorney’s fees and costs in accordance with the laws of this state, including a contingency fee multiplier, as authorized by law; and
2. The actual damages incurred, but not more than $100,000. Interest on the sums awarded pursuant to this subsection shall accrue at the legal rate from the date on which suit was filed.
(4) Exceptions.—This Section Does Not Prohibit:
(a) Zoning ordinances that encompass firearms businesses along with other businesses, except that zoning ordinances that are designed for the purpose of restricting or prohibiting the sale, purchase, transfer, or manufacture of firearms or ammunition as a method of regulating firearms or ammunition are in conflict with this subsection and are prohibited;
(b) A duly organized law enforcement agency from enacting and enforcing regulations pertaining to firearms, ammunition, or firearm accessories issued to or used by peace officers in the course of their official duties;
(c) Except as provided in s. 790.251, any entity subject to the prohibitions of this section from regulating or prohibiting the carrying of firearms and ammunition by an employee of the entity during and in the course of the employee’s official duties;
(d) A court or administrative law judge from hearing and resolving any case or controversy or issuing any opinion or order on a matter within the jurisdiction of that court or judge; or
(e) The Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission from regulating the use of firearms or ammunition as a method of taking wildlife and regulating the shooting ranges managed by the commission.
(5) Short Title.—As created by chapter 87-23, Laws of Florida, this section may be cited as the “Joe Carlucci Uniform Firearms Act.”
Florida CCW FAQ's
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 90 days of the application being received.
Applications can be submitted in the following ways;
- Online (renewals only)
- Regional office Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services
- Florida Tax Collectors Office
You need to provide a written request with a copy of a legal document that confirms your change of name. There is a $15 fee for name changes. This fee can be avoided if you submit the changes at the same time the permit is renewed.
You must notify the Division of licensing of any address change within 30 days. This can be submitted online or by mail to;
Division of Licensing
PO Box 6387
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6387
It is not possible to transfer another state’s concealed carry permit/license to Florida.
If you currently have a concealed weapon license from another state that honors Florida concealed weapons permits and are moving to Florida, then you permit is valid for 90 days by establishing your legal residence via one of the following methods;
- Registering to vote
- Making a statement of domicile s.222.17
- Applying for a homestead exemption on property located in Florida
Yes it became effective on October 1, 2005
“Home protection; use or threatened use of deadly force; presumption of fear of death or great bodily harm.”
Florida CCW Contact
Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm
Address 7743 NW 48th St., Ste. 100
CityDoral, FL 33166-5407
Phone (305) 639-3500
Updates & Data Sources
|1/19/18||Updated Tennessee page|
|1/14/18||Update Washington, Colorado pages|
|1/7/18||Updated South Carolina, DC pages|
|1/1/18||Updated New York page|
|12/28/17||Updated Arizona pge|
|12/25/17||Updated Utah page to mobile friendly design, will roll out to other pages over next few months.|
|12/9/17||Updated Texas page|
|12/6/17||Updated California and Hawaii page, Hawaii page only partially completed.|
|12/1/17||Ohio page finished|
|11/24/17||Updated Washington DC to Shall Issue|
|11/8/17||Update Illinois page|
|11/1/17||Updated Florida and Alabama pages|
|10/12/17||Updated Ohio page, added new sections to statistics page|
|10/5/17||Added video section to Florida page|
|10/3/17||Updated Nevada page|
|10/2/17||Updated Georgia page|
|9/30/17||Updated Texas page|
|9/30/17||Entered new figures for latest 2017 NICS checks on Statistics page|
|9/29/17||Updated Pennsylvania page|
|9/26/17||Updated Florida page, added new links, forms and sections|
|7/22/17||updated permit numbers to latest figures|
|6/29/17||Updated permit numbers to 14,917,279|
|6/17/17||updated interface, added new travel info and other sections.|
- Crime Prevention Research Center
- Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Division of Licensing, Concealed Weapon or Firearm License Summary Report
- Concealed Weapon or Firearm: Section 790.06, Florida Statutes, Fee Schedule
- Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Concealed Weapon License – Renew Your License
The percentage of population with a permit is actually 9.47%, we had to round it off to 9% as our counter will only accept whole numbers.
More detailed information can be found on the Statistics page.