Full Guide To CCW Laws

Essential things to know about concealed carry in Illinois.
Quickly find out all the latest information you need to safely carry a firearm in Illinois.
Keep reading...

illinois state seal

Illinois gun laws require residents  to have a valid Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card to possess a firearm or ammunition. There is a waiting period of 72 hours after buying a handgun to take possession of it. Concealed carry licenses are issued by the state police to applicants who have passed a 16 hour training course and are at least 21 years old. Non-resident permits are available for residents of four states, AR, MS, TX, VA and Non-residents are also exempt from having a FOID card if they possess a valid CCW permit from their home state.

Illinois CCW Quick Facts

Carry In Vehicle SEE DETAILS
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks SEE DETAILS
No Weapons Signs Enforced YES
Open Carry Permitted NO
Carry In Restaurants SEE DETAILS
Constitutional Carry NO

Illinois CCW Dashboard

total active cpl
licenses in illinois

Gun Laws

State Rating
states Permit
honored in

il Honors

states permit
not honored
with permit
total active ccw
Permit's in illinois

Gun Laws

State rating
states that honor
a illinois permit
state Permits
illinois honors
states not
honoring permit

Illinois Reciprocity Map


Illinois CCW license recognition

  • Permit honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Residential permits only
  • Issuing state

How Reciprocity Works In Illinois

Illinois will not honor any other states concealed carry permits. They will however issue non-resident concealed carry licenses to residents of four states;

  • Arkansas
  • Mississippi
  • Texas
  • Virginia

These states have been assessed as having substantially similar firearms laws to Illinois laws. This list is being continually updated as more states are identified as having similar CCW laws to Illinois.

Illinois Reciprocity List


Resident Permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Non-Resident Permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin

Illinois does not honor any other states permits.
California, Connecticut, Colorado, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.

Pointers: Illinois Handgun Laws

Illinois Handgun License

Illinois Gun Policy

Shall Issue

Permit Issued To

Residents, Non-Residents*
CCW License Overview
Concealed carry licenses are issued by the Illinois State Police on a "Shall Issue" policy. However, Illinois differs from other states in that they still give law enforcement the right to object to a CCW license being issued if they think the applicant is a danger to public safety or themselves. If the police do object then the case is heard by the Concealed Carry Licensing Review Board who will make the final decision if a license is issued. The applicant is notified by mail of the boards decision.

Another way Illinois differs from other states is that applicants will require a FOID card before they make the application. The FOID card is needed in Illinois to purchase and possess firearms.

Non-Resident Licenses
Illinois currently only grants non-resident CCW licenses to residents of states that have substantially similar concealed carry laws to those in Illinois. There are only four states on this list, Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas and Virginia. Residents from other states are however allowed to travel through Illinois if they have a valid CCW license from their home state.
Handgun Training
A 16 hour firearms training course by a state approved instructor is required for all new CCCW license applications. The course consists of;
  1. Firearms Safety
  2. Principles of marksmanship
  3. Cleaning and loading of firearm
  4. State and federal laws on firearms
  5. Handling a firearm - Range training with minimum of 30 rounds. You will need to fire 10 rounds from 5 yards, then 7 yards and then 10 yards.
A full list of instructors can be obtained from the state website.

Members of the military and persons who have completed a firearms training course in other states that has been approved by Illinois can obtain a credit of 8 hours of the required 16 hour course.


  • At least 21 years old
  • You have a valid Firearm Owner’s Identification card (FOID)
  • You have not been convicted or found guilty of a misdemeanor involving the threat of physical force or violence to any person within the past 5 years
  • You do not have 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drugs, intoxicating compounds within the past 5 years
  • You are not subject to a pending arrest warrant, prosecution or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm
  • You have not been in a residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the past 5 years
  • Federal law requirements

A FOID Card will be required to purchase a firearm or ammunition

cost of
Cww license
Years Permit
is valid
illinois concealed carry license


Firearm Owners Identification Card

All Illinois residents that possess or purchase a firearm or ammunition within the state must have in their possession a valid Firearm Owners Identification card (FOID) issued in their name.
Learn More
We have a separate page giving step by step directions on how to obtain a FOID card, appealing decisions, fees, renewals and more.

Illinois Concealed Handgun Forms

Download Your Forms

Illinois: Places Off-Limits for CCW

illinois state flag
Illinois state flag

Places Off-Limits In Illinois

  • Public or private elementary or secondary school.
  • Pre-school or child care facility
  • Any building, parking area, or portion of a building under the control of an officer of the executive or legislative branch of government
  • Circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court
  • Any building or portion of a building under the control of a unit of local government
  • Adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail
  • Public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home
  • Public bus, train, or form of transportation paid for with public funds
  • Establishment that serves alcohol on its premises, if more than 50% of the establishment’s gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol
  • Any public gathering or special event conducted on property open to the public
  • Any building or real property that has been issued a Special Event Retailer’s license
  • Public playground
  • Public park, athletic area, or athletic facility
  • Property under the control of the Cook County Forest Preserve District
  • Any building, classroom, laboratory, medical clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, officially recognized university-related organization property, including parking areas, sidewalks, and common areas under the control of a public or private community college, or university
  • Gaming facility licensed under the Riverboat Gambling Act or the Illinois Horse Racing Act of 1975, including an inter-track wagering location
  • Any stadium, arena, or the real property or parking area under the control of a stadium, arena, or any collegiate or professional sporting event
  • Public library
  • Airport
  • Amusement park
  • Zoo or museum
  • Any street, driveway, parking area, property, building, or facility, owned, leased, controlled, or used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site or facility regulated by the federal Nuclear Regulatory Commission
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Places Allowed In Illinois

  • State parks – see details
  • State and national forests
  • Vehicle – see details
  • All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits

The Illinois Supreme Court ruled in February 2018 that the ban on carry near a public park is unconstitutional.

430 ILCS 66/65 - Off limits

History Of Illinois Gun Laws

antique flintlock pistol
Antique Pistol

Learn The History of Illinois Gun Laws


Illinois passed a law banning concealed carry of firearms in 1949.


The 1949 law is revised and now bans the practice of concealed carry and open carry. Some counties were permitted to pass local laws to allow open carry but concealed carry was still banned in these counties.


A further law was passed in 1968 requiring residents to have a FOID card to purchase or possess firearms or ammunition.


Federal Court of Appeal rules in Moore v. Madigan that the Illinois ban on concealed carry is unconstitutional. The Federal court imposed a deadline of 180 days for the Illinois government to pass new laws reversing the 60 year ban on concealed carry. An extension of 30 days was later granted.


This was then backed up by another case, on September 12, 2013 when the Illinois Supreme Court rules in People v. Aguilar that the state’s law “Aggravated Use Of A Weapon” banning concealed carry is unconstitutional.


February 2018, see's the Illinois Supreme court rule that the ban on concealed carry near public parks is unconstitutional

Illinois Gun Sales & Preemption

Gun Sales

Illinois has a waiting period after purchasing a firearm before the purchaser can take possession of the weapon. The waiting period is 72 hours for a handgun and 24 hours for a shotgun or rifle. The purchaser must also have a FOID card issued by the State Police to purchase any firearm or ammunition.

Sales made by a Federal Firearms License holder require the seller to verify the FOID card via an automated dial up system (Firearm Transfer Inquiry Program) run by the state police. The same checks will also need to be done for any sales at a gun show.

Private Gun Sales

If a firearm is being sold privately then by law the seller must verify the purchasers FOID card and also keep a record of any sale for a period of 10 years. To verify the purchasers FOID card the seller must contact the state police and receive a transfer approval number via a phone call or web site.


There is state preemption for all gun laws in Illinois. All prior restrictions made by local authorities relating to handguns are now rescinded. Local authorities cannot pass any new laws for handguns or long guns. However, laws relating to long guns that were in effect before the new gun laws came into effect in 2013 are still legally enforced.

430 ILCS 66 Section 90

Illinois Concealed Carry Laws

illinois state capitol building
Illinois state capitol building

Illinois Gun Laws To Know

NO - Must Inform Officer

There is nothing in Illinois gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are legally required to carry the permit/license at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun. If an officer requests to see the license then you must hand it over.

The Law
430 ILCS 66/10


Illinois gun laws give the force of law to “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons" sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

The Law
430 ILCS 66/70
430 ILCS 66 Section 65(d)
1231.150 Administrative Rules


It is illegal to carry a loaded handgun in a vehicle without a permit/license. The statute does not apply however to the transportation of firearms that are:
1) broken down in a non-functioning state;
2) not immediately accessible; or
3) unloaded and enclosed in a case, firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container by a person with a currently valid Firearm Owner’s Identification card.

A person who is issued a valid concealed carry license is permitted to keep or carry a loaded or unloaded concealed handgun on or about his or her person within a vehicle.

There is another separate law for Non-Residents
A non-resident may transport a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle if they have a valid CCW permit in their home state. They cannot under any circumstances remove the firearm from the vehicle. If they need to exit the vehicle they must lock it or place the firearm in a locked container.

The Law
430 ILCS 66/40

NO - with or Without a permit

Open carrying a handgun on your person or in a vehicle with or without a license in Illinois is illegal. Even if you have a concealed permit you still cannot legally open carry.

The handgun must be concealed from view of the public.


In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol

Yes, unless the bar is posted. If a bar gets more than 50% of their income from selling alcohol then you cannot carry a firearm there.


It is legal to carry in the following areas;

State Parks:    YES
State/National Forests:    YES (not in posted buildings)
State Wildlife Management Areas:    YES (not in posted buildings)
State Refuge or Nature Preserves:   NO
Road Side Rest Areas:   NO

IDNR Frequently Asked Questions

"Subject only to the police power, the right of the individual citizen to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed."
(Art. I, 22)
no weapons sign in illinois

Illinois Off-Limit Statutes

Other Illinois CCW Statutes

For information on other states handgun laws please go back to the state laws page and select the state you are interested in.

Illinois CCW FAQ's

Frequently asked questions on illinois gun laws

For information on other states handgun laws please go back to the state laws page and select the state you are interested in.

Illinois CCW Contact

Illinois State Police


Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Address 801 South 7th Street

CitySpringfield, Il62703

Phone (217) 782-7980


Updates & Data Sources


The information contained on this page is not legal advice but is merely a starting point for your own research. It is up to you to decide what the best course of action is for your circumstances. We are not lawyers, if you'd like individualized legal advice, we'd be happy to refer you to some law practices with known firearm specializations. It is crucial that you understand the law before you carry a firearm. Also, remember that just because a statute may clearly say one thing or another, that doesn't mean all members of law enforcement know it. That also goes for lawyers and even judges too.

Leave a Reply

95 Comment threads
153 Thread replies
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
168 Comment authors
Alexjuan cifuentesJ TaylorJesse HidsonJesse A Hudson Recent comment authors

Can I have or keep my 9mm magazine loaded ready to use in side my house ?
Please let me know

juan cifuentes
juan cifuentes

I have a concealed carry permit, can I use my sisters gun ?

Jim Bryant
Jim Bryant

If my elderly parent gift me a weapon, what do I have to do and what are the time limitations to do them for this weapon to be legal in the state of Illinois? Thank you in advance.

Danny V
Danny V

Can you have ammunition shipped directly to your house in Chicago ?

Mike Jones
Mike Jones

If applied for ccl last year had to resubmit several times now. Last letter now states training certificate invalid. Same certificate instructor gave me. Its valid for 5 years. What do I do now???


Can an appointed special process server who is an off duty cop open carry in Chicago when they are serving process?


Is a former Illinois law enforcement officer who has completed the Mandatory 40-hour firearms training, required to complete a CCW course to carry.

Jonathan Matheus
Jonathan Matheus

If I have a enhanced conceal carry license from Mississippi can I conceal carry in IL? Or do I need to go though IL police and get some other type of documentation from the state? I will only be there for 3 days


Question about establishments that have the “no firearms” sign on the front. If there is a sign that clearly lays out that there are no guns aloud, who enforces the law if I do decide to bring a gun into these places? If it’s concealed and there’s no metal detector, how is it feasible to enforce the sign if they can’t see my gun?


I took my ccl years ago. I can’t remember but I think the instructor told us that we’re suppose to show the license when asked and let them know where the firearm is located at.
But he never said to get off the vehicle while they seArch the vehicle.

My question is even if I’m illegally stopped, do I have to comply on getting off the vehicle? Does my 4th amendment have to get violated because they’ll used the excuse they fear for their lives because a gun in the vehicle even if the gun is legal.

Nathan Mintz
Nathan Mintz

You must notify the officer that you are carrying if they request.
“upon the request of the officer the licensee or non-resident shall disclose to the officer that he or she is in possession of a concealed firearm under this Act, or present the license upon the request of the officer “


08-20-060 is a Chicago only ordinance. Please update, correct and specific GUNSTOCARRY.COM


I have a CCW from Indiana and planning to bring my G17 unloaded and locked up in a case in my trunk. But when I get to my hotel in Chicago, can I then load my G17 and keep it loaded in my hotel room locked in my case if the hotel doesn’t have a ban on firearms on their property?


yes, as that is considered your place of residence for time being

Terence Fennell
Terence Fennell

Illinois is a crummy state. North Carolina gives a CCL in 45 days and you don’t even need a permit to open carry. Its all about the money with Illinois and you wonder why people are leaving this state at a rapid rate.


whats the capacity in cook county?


I don’t believe the county has a capacity restriction….yet.

Richard B Gossard
Richard B Gossard

Passed renewal ccw class on 3/14/19. Original ccw expired 4/8/19. Can I still carry until ISP sends my new ccw.


State sent a letter advising that ccw will be extended if application is made prior to expiration date.

1 3 4 5