Indiana Gun Laws

Indiana gun laws allow a License to Carry to be issued to residents and non-residents. There are two types of licenses available, a limited term and unlimited lifetime license. Non-residents can only obtain the four year limited license and they will normally be required to have a business or property in Indiana. Residents or persons in the military who are stationed in Indiana can obtain the lifetime license. The minimum age for applicants is 18 years or older. Indiana is a “Shall Issue” state.

indiana state seal

Indiana CCW Quick Facts

Carry In Vehicle SEE DETAILS
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks Allowed YES
No Weapons Signs Enforced NO
Open Carry Permitted SEE DETAILS
Carry In Liquor Establishments YES
Constitutional Carry NO
Shall Issue
See Details

Indiana License to Carry


  • Must be at least 18 years old.
  • Must be a citizen of the United States.
  • Must be resident of Indiana for lifetime license – (non-residents can get the 4 year license).
  • Is a proper person IC35-47-1-7
    “Proper person” means a person who:
  1. does not have a conviction for resisting law enforcement under IC 35-44.1-3-1 within five (5) years before the person applies for a license or permit under this chapter;
  2. does not have a conviction for a crime for which the person could have been sentenced for more than one (1) year;
  3. does not have a conviction for a crime of domestic violence – Indiana Code 2015 (as defined in IC 35-31.5-2-78), unless a court has restored the person’s right to possess a firearm under IC 35-47-4-7;
  4. is not prohibited by a court order from possessing a handgun;
  5. does not have a record of being an alcohol or drug abuser as
  6. does not have documented evidence which would give rise to a reasonable belief that the person has a propensity for violent or emotionally unstable conduct;
  7. does not make a false statement of material fact on the persons application;
  8. does not have a conviction for any crime involving an inability to safely handle a handgun;
  9. does not have a conviction for violation of the provisions of this article within five (5) years of the person’s application;
  10. does not have an adjudication as a delinquent child for an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult, if the person applying for a license or permit under this chapter is less than twenty-three (23) years of age;
  11. has not been involuntarily committed, other than a temporary commitment for observation or evaluation, to a mental institution by a court, board, commission, or other lawful authority;
  12. has not been the subject of a:
  • (A) ninety (90) day commitment as a result of proceeding under IC 12-26-6; or
  • (B) regular commitment under IC 12-26-7; or
  • has not been found by a court to be mentally incompetent, including being found:
    • (A) not guilty by reason of insanity;
    • (B) guilty but mentally ill; or
    • (C) incompetent to stand trial.
  • Federal Law Requirements
  • Indiana CCW Dashboard

    age required

    Cost of
    a ccw license

    years license
    is valid

    year License
    data updated

    Active CCW
    permits in indiana

    population with
    a ccw license

    states that honor
    an indian permit

    state permits
    indiana honors

    gun laws

    State Rating

    Indiana Reciprocity Map


    INDIANA CCW License recognition

    • Permit Honored
    • Permit not honored
    • Residential permits only
      • Issuing state

      Indiana CCW Reciprocity

      Indian Reciprocity State List


      Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

      Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

      states & Districts

      Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

      Districts & Territories
      District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands


      California, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington

      How Reciprocity Works in Indiana

      All valid out of state concealed carry licenses are honored by Indiana.
      indiana State flag

      Indiana state flag

      Indiana Handgun License Forms

      Forms are no longer available

      All applications, renewals, name or address changes must now be made online.

      Pointers: Indiana Handgun Laws

      Indiana: Places Off-Limits for CCW

      Places Off-Limits in Indiana

      • In or On School Property - (locked in a vehicle is OK).
      • On a school bus
      • In or on property that is being used by a school for a school function
      • Private School, Head Start, Preschool program
      • On commercial or charter aircraft
      • Controlled access areas of an airport
      • During annual State Fair
      • Shipping port (Controlled by Indiana Port Commission)
      • A riverboat Casino
      • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

      Places Allowed in Indiana

      • State parks
      • State and national forests
      • Road side rest areas
      • Vehicle
      • If you are transporting a person to or from a school or a school function
      • All areas of the state - except those listed as Off-Limits

      Indiana Handgun Laws To Know

      YES/NO - Without a permit

      If you do not have a permit/license then you cannot carry a loaded handgun in any vehicle, unless the firearm is unloaded, not accessible and secured in a case.

      If you have a CCW license then you can carry a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle.

      The Law

      NO - Without a permit
      YES - With a permit

      Open carry is legal in Indiana if you have a license to carry. The carry license is valid for open, concealed, and locked case carry.

      NO - Must Inform Officer

      There is nothing in Indiana gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are legally required to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun. The Law

      “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Indiana gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits. GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons" sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.


      It is legal to carry in the following areas;

      State Parks:    YES    Except "Falls of the Ohio" State Park.
      State/National Forests:    YES
      State Wildlife Management Areas:    YES
      Road Side Rest Areas:   YES      

      The Law
      DNR Admin Rule 312 IAC 8.2.3

      "Yes" or "No" states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with "NO GUN" signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a "Yes" then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.


      “No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Indiana gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.

      GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons" sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

      Indiana does not have Constitutional Carry.

      Indiana Gun Sales & Preemption

      Private Gun Sales in Indiana

      There is no requirement in Indiana for background checks on private gun sales. It is illegal to sell a firearm to a person that is under the age of 18 or anyone who abuses drugs or alcohol.

      Preemption in Indiana

      State preemption of local gun laws took effect in 2011. Local authorities are not permitted to regulate firearms in anyway.


      Indiana Gun Statutes

      “The people shall have the right to bear arms, for the defense of themselves and the State”

      indiana state capitol building

      Indiana State Capitol Building

      Off-Limits Statutes

      Other CCW Statutes

      Indiana CCW FAQ's

      Indiana CCW Contacts

      Indiana State Police


      Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm

      Saturday Closed

      Sunday Closed


      Address 100 N. Senate Ave, Suite N302

      CityIndianapolis IN 46204

      Phone (317) 232-8264



      Updates & Data Sources


      1. I’m headed to Boston for work. Can I take my firearm with me? Thanks

        1. Assuming you have a valid Indiana carry permit, then NO! IN, OH, PA, WV, VA will honor your permit, however, other states you may need to travel through, such as NY, MD, CT and Massachusetts itself will not honor Indiana’s permit

      2. Do we have information on shooting on private property in Indiana? I’m wondering if there’s designations like how far I have to be from a road or such.

        1. I believe I read somewhere that discharge of a firearm in City limits, unless at a designated range, or in self defense, is illegal. But don’t quote me. Call your local police

        2. It is illegal to fire across a road or waterway. I’m not aware of any regulations regarding distance from a road. If you are found to be irresponsible with your firearm and put others in danger, you could face criminal charges

        3. Outside city limits you must have ricochet protection at 45 degrees in all directions around targets and be 50 or 100 feet from house’s other than your own and the road.

      3. I applied for a replacement carry licence because I lost my old one. Its been three weeks and I still haven’t received it. My status says approved but waiting on duplicate process. How long does it usually take?

        1. They have 60 days to reply. Usually takes 2 weeks but they have 2 months

      4. It is a constitutional right to carry handgun why is that constitutional right taken away and sold back to lawful citizens by the state for profit. The Constitution does not differentiate between concealed and open carry. It’s still illegal for somebody with a violent felony to own a firearm let alone carry a firearm. How does this affect the criminal? It does not, it only affects the Law Abiding Citizen who pays the state a ridiculous amount of money for a right guaranteed in Indiana’s Bill of Rights Article 1 Section 32.

        1. Amen Brother…!
          Each and every one of us who has “Legally” jumped through all of he hoops and paid off the government officials are wondering the exact, same thing…!
          How can it be Constitutionally Guaranteed in some states but not in others…?
          Aren’t all States governed by the same Constitution of The United States of America that our Founding Forefathers agreed upon, drafted, then all signed so that every Man, Women, and Child should be governed by its

      5. I’m an Indiana resident and my 18th birthday is on the 6th. I’m going to apply for my carry’s right when I turn 18. Am I allowed to give my mother money to buy a handgun for me?

        1. As long as the gun is a gift to you then it is okay. I am also 18 and that is how I acquired my handgun. It was a gift from my late grandfather when he passed. So when you’re buying the gun, have your mom buy it with her money and then the gifting can be done at home.

        2. As far as I can tell from the law, this is not legal. At age 18 you can lawfully purchase a handgun from a private individual but not a dealer

        3. Federal Law states you cannot purchase a Handgun yourself, however State law states that you can. This mean that you are unable to purchase a handgun from any LICENSED DEALER. If you were to buy a handgun from your neighbor, you must have ID stating your 18, that is perfectly legal. The law is a bit weird, I’d suggest talking to State Police.

        4. No. Your mother can gift a handgun to you but you can not pay for it or pick it out at store if salesman thinks she’s buying on your behalf she could get arrested for felony.

      6. Are Indiana teachers and other administrative staff at schools allowed to have a gun with them in their classrooms?

        1. Absolutely not. It’s a state law that no one other law enforcement is allowed to possess or obtain a firearm on school grounds.

          1. Gun free zones in reality are criminal empowerment zones. An Armed Society is a Polite Society.

        2. Local communities can decide if teachers can carry in schools. It has been on the books for years.

        3. That’s up to the School Board, but its rare to find a School Corporation that allows it.

      7. I am a resident of North Dakota and I will be traveling to Indiana for Christmas. I know I can carry a handgun in the trunk of the car; however, am I able to shoot it at a gun range in Indiana?

        1. Indiana honors all 50 states permits. If you do not have a permit, IN law allows a person to carry a gun at a gun range without a permit.

      8. I am 18 years old. My mother and I are looking into getting our Personal Protection Licenses and I am wondering if I would be okay to conceal and carry a handgun as long as my parents are the ones who purchase the firearm for me? Can someone help me out with this? Thanks.

        1. I would say when you go to the gun store ask one of the “knowable staff” there; they should be able to answer your question.

        2. You must be 21 to purchase a handgun from a dealer, however you can do a private party transaction if you are at least 18. If you are inexperienced with firearms I recommend that you do not purchase from an individual. Your parents can buy a firearm from a dealer and gift it to you, but they cannot “purchase it for you”. The dealer you buy from should be able to help you with this.

        3. Your parents cannot purchase your gun. You must have the license to carry.

      9. I am a non violent convicted felon in Florida over 10 years ago. I am now a resident of Indiana and have no record here. Can i own a firearm?

      10. So I am an Indiana resident with a carry permit and am getting ready to retire. We are going to sell our IN house and move to our cottage (smaller) in MI. Will my permit still be valid? I know people have permits for many different states so they can carry most everywhere.

        1. Not all states honor other states permits, however Michigan and Indiana both honor each others permits. So after you move you should be able to apply for a MI permit.

            1. In Michigan they only honor resident permit, so even with a lifetime Indiana permit, legally once you sold your home you would need to tell Indiana State Police “address change” and then apply to Michigan for their resident permits since you would no longer be a resident of Indiana.

      11. If you have your concealed carry license is there another license or permit you need to get for indiana

        1. Indiana will honor a carry permit from any state in the US. There are no laws regarding manner of carry in Indiana; open or concealed is legal

        2. If you have a valid Concealed Carry permit from out of State or a License to Carry from Indiana, you’re good to go. Indiana does not issue CCWs.

      12. What is the difference between the hunting and target license and personal protection license? Do I have to get a Hunting one to carry a long rifle to go shooting on hunting territory that is not private? Is the personal protection one just Hand guns?

        1. Indiana does not require any licenses or permits for long guns.
          And you don’t need a hand gun license when carrying while hunting.

      13. im not sure what your Indiana permit says but mine says personal protection permit need to quit this ccw b,s,

      14. If one is a member of the precinct election board is it legal to carry in the poll on Election Day?

        1. Call Indiana State Police and selet the option for handgun licenses. Ask them.

      15. why do I have to have a background check after having a lifetime permit for the last 5 years I needed a address change on my license iv paid my $ and it’s been a week today I haven’t gotten my duplicate license I have no arrest record has my civil rights been violated

      16. Your information regarding gun laws in Indiana is inaccurate. There are several errors of which just two are that you do not need a proper reason to get a license to carry and it is allowed to have and leave a loaded handgun in your vehicle in a school parking lot. There is no excuse for inaccurate information.

        1. No reason is necessary when applying for CCP in IN. There isn’t even a space for a reason on application anymore–IN is a “shall issue” state. Also, you CAN carry a loaded handgun in car (and even possess on your person if in car) at a school IF you remain in the car. You can also store a loaded handgun in your LOCKED car at a school, IF it’s out of site. If you step out of your car, though, you’re toast. Exception: Students or Employees of higher education CAN be restricted from even having a handgun in car (a legal exception to “bring your gun to work” law.) So, if you work for college, don’t take gun in car–you aren’t suspect to legal jeopardy, but you’ll probably be expelled from school or lose your university job. Highly recommend Indiana Legal Course from, owned and taught by IN Gun rights expert and attorney Guy Relford (he has written many of the state laws). 4 hour course with plenty of Q&A. Goes into Who can carry, Where you can carry, and When you can brandish or use (Self-Defense, Castle Doctrine, Citizen Arrest, Intimidation, etc). To reinforce Vinnie’s concerns: One must be VERY careful following advice written for a national audience-State gun laws vary; so, please make sure you are being educated about your state (that’s what Guy Relford focuses on. Again, highly recommend class!)

      17. Can a felon get denied a chance to just look at guns? I only ask cause I know someone who was just wanting to look at them. Not to buy or anything but just to look. Thanks

        1. Join the discussion…My Desert Eagle with 300 grain hollow points is waiting for you, Hillbilly!

        2. Come try it tough guy. Bring your family and friends too. 76 birds with one stone.

      Leave a Comment