LOUISIANA GUN LAWS

louisiana state seal

Louisiana Handgun Permit

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • Completed a firearm training course
  • Be a resident of the state of Louisiana
  • You are a US citizen
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor in this or any other state relating to a controlled dangerous substance within the last five years.
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence within the last five years.
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence or any crime punishable by imprisonment for a term of one year or greater. However, a person who has been convicted of a violation of 18 U.S.C. 491(a) shall be permitted to qualify for a concealed handgun permit if fifteen or more years has elapsed.
  • Not have had a permit revoked within four years prior to the most recent application.
  • Not have had a permit denied within one year prior to the most recent application.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons

louisiana ccw QUICK FACTS

Carry In Vehicle YES
Must Notify Officer YES
Carry In State Parks Allowed YES
No Weapons Signs Enforced YES
Open Carry Permitted YES
Carry In Liquor Establishments YES
Constitutional Carry NO

Permit Information

Louisiana gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” policy. Concealed carry permits are available for residents only, non-resident permits are not available. Applicants must be at least 21 years or older, a resident, and complete a firearms training course. Permit applications are processed at the state level by the Department of Public Safety. There are two types of permits, a five year and lifetime permit. Honorably discharged veterans of the military can obtain a permit for free if they meet the criteria.

states that
0
honor a louisiana permit
state permits
0
louisiana honors

Louisiana Reciprocity Map

louisiana

Louisiana CCW permit recognition

  • Permit honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Issuing state


Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

WITH CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT

Where You Can Carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed below

Where You Cannot Carry

  • A law enforcement office, station, or building.
  • A detention facility, prison, or jail.
  • A courthouse or courtroom, provided that a judge may carry such a weapon in his own courtroom.
  • A polling place.
  • A meeting place of the governing authority of a political subdivision.
  • The state capitol building.
  • Any portion of an airport facility where the carrying of firearms is prohibited under federal law, except that no person shall be prohibited from carrying any legal firearm into the terminal, if the firearm is encased for shipment, for the purpose of checking such firearm as lawful baggage.
  • Any church, synagogue, mosque or similar place of worship.
  • A parade or demonstration for which a permit is issued by a governmental entity.
  • Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises. Restaurants are OK but you can’t carry in the bar area of a restaurant.
  • Any school firearm free zone (within 1000ft of a school or on a school bus).
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Details on Louisiana Gun Laws

Louisiana Contacts


Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit

Hours

Monday – Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact

Address 7919 Independence Blvd.

CityBaton Rouge, LA 70806

Phone (225) 925-4867

Email concealed.handguns@dps.la.gov

 

41
Leave a Reply

avatar
20 Comment threads
21 Thread replies
1 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
32 Comment authors
JoeBruceJuwan WigginsWillParker Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Joe
Guest
Joe

You cannot open carry in opelousas la.

Bruce
Guest
Bruce

Texas is Open Carry. I carry open everyday.

Juwan Wiggins
Guest
Juwan Wiggins

If i live in louisiana but have california identification, is it illegal to open carry in the state of louisiana with a california I.D. ? i have live in louisiana for 1 year but never switched my identification over, will i get in trouble for open carry ?

Brought
Guest
Brought

What about in enhanced carry Mississippi concealed weapons permit do they honor that in Louisiana

Jpaul
Guest
Jpaul

Can a EMT*

Jpaul
Guest
Jpaul

Cant EMT carry a concealed weapon (with permit) while he/she is working?

Sam
Guest
Sam

That would be up to who employs you. You can Conceal Carry in Louisiana with a permit but some companies restrict firearms on their job site or while on their payroll.

Logan Lee Liedtke
Guest
Logan Lee Liedtke

I am PCSing from JBLM, Wa. I have been a resident of Washington my entire life. I have a concealed pistol license. I see that your website honors Washington Permits. Is this correct? I will be at Ft. Polk soon. I just want to make sure I’m in the clear. Thank you

Gerald Johnson
Guest
Gerald Johnson

G

Greg
Guest
Greg

Can a Texas LTC open carry in Louisiana?

James
Guest
James

Yes but you must follow the Louisianna laws at that point in time.

leeroy pitre
Guest
leeroy pitre

So we are doing a road trip from Louisiana to California. Louisiana issued my concealed carry permit. It looks like TX, NM, AZ will honor it while carrying inside my car. However CA does not. Is there a place in AZ along I10 where I can safely leave my pistol and easily pick it up in way back?

James
Guest
James

For California you can still have you gun as long as it is in a locked container and locked in the truck away from any source of ammunition. The ammunition has to be in the glove boxbif the gun is in the trunk. They can both me in the same compartments. Also you can’t take a magazine that holds over ten rounds into California.

Will
Guest
Will

That use to be true, and still is if you are just passing through. However their laws have changed, and if you stay in CA overnight, you are no longer passing through, and may not have a firearm with you. Please research and know the law before you go, CA is crazy!

Geramie Hurd
Guest
Geramie Hurd

Do the state of Louisiana honor a Tennessee handgun permit

Andrew
Guest
Andrew

Yes, the colorful map of the United States above will tell you which states accept other states permits. Anything in Blue is accepted.

Jenn
Guest
Jenn

I’m a Texas resident traveling to Louisiana with my handgun. I don’t have a permit yet, can I legally have my gun inside my car without a permit?

Darryl Winfrey
Guest
Darryl Winfrey

Yes you may! Louisiana constitute your vehicle is an extension of your home

Darryl Winfrey
Guest
Darryl Winfrey

I’ve been stopped without having my ccw and I kindly tell them I do have a loaded firearm in my car… worst case scenario they will run your serial number on it and give it back by putting the gun in the trunk and handing you your ammo like they did me?

Andrew
Guest
Andrew

Yes, just like Texas no permit is required to store a firearm in your vehicle. It is considered an extension of your home.

Adam Delcambre
Guest
Adam Delcambre

My daughter has a Louisiana Conceal Carry permit and is moving to Maryland with her husband. an active service U.S. Army Major. Does Maryland give special consideration to active military families ?

Ben Conway
Guest
Ben Conway

Her permit will not be valid in MD. I was a recruiter there for 3 years in the city of Baltimore, the most dangerous city in the nation. I wasn’t able to get a permit even though I was active duty and I was the victim of crimes involving firearms. I decided to carry anyways and took the risk of the felony gun charge over losing my life to some street thug.

Dre
Guest
Dre

Hello, i live in Louisiana and I purchased a gun from a gun store! Can I have that gun inside my car while riding around without having a carry permit yet??

Que
Guest
Que

Yes. Your car is an extension of your home. Make sure you notify the officer if approached by one

Parker
Guest
Parker

Can the pistol be concealed in the car without having a ccl, if so can u put a link in the discussion of the law

Jim G.
Guest
Jim G.

According the La State Police website on concealed carry laws, New Mexico does not offer reciprocity for Louisiana concealed carry permits. Louisiana does honor a New Mexico permit however. Please update your map. The web page with this info is as follows: http://www.lsp.org/handguns.html#recip

Devin
Guest
Devin

The New Mexico cc permit website says that they honor Louisiana CHPs

GREG
Guest
GREG

Is the Virginia Non-Resident Online CCW permit online course valid in Louisiana?

Franklin Moorehart Jr
Guest
Franklin Moorehart Jr

Yes but if u live in LA you have to get there’s

Devin
Guest
Devin

If you are a Louisiana resident, you mush have a Louisiana issued concealed handgun permit to conceal carry a pistol in louisiana

JustCurious
Guest
JustCurious

What about misdemeanors (simple battery from a fight) at age 17, which was over 30 years ago in my case?

Darryl Winfrey
Guest
Darryl Winfrey

Were you tried as an adult or minor? Louisiana your gun rights are reinstated after 7-10 years I dont remember but you have to get it straight with the federal laws as well… you can still be denied by the feds in otherwords

Carrie
Guest
Carrie

If you are a Texas resident with a Texas concealed carry permit, do you have to retake the firearms course when you become a Louisiana resident? Or will my valid Texas permit replace the requirements for a Louisiana permit?

Andrew
Guest
Andrew

Probably a little late for a response but, youre best bet would be to take the course in Louisiana just to ensure you’re aware of all state laws. Plus when it comes to renewing your Texas CHL there may be issues with not being a resident.

Questionman
Guest
Questionman

Military member question:
If I am a resident of LA and aquire a lifetime permit, is it still valid when I move elsewhere, or is it only good for the duration of my time as a resident?
Thanks in advance!

Jonathan
Guest
Jonathan

Lifetime is only valid as a resident of la. If you leave the state and reside elsewhere legally it is invalidated both in louisiana and every other state and you will have to reapply for concealed carry upon return to the state.

Jonathan
Guest
Jonathan

Concealed Handguns Frequently Asked Questions

Q. I have moved out of state. Is my permit still valid?

A. No, when a permittee ceases to reside within the state the permit becomes invalid and must be returned to the Department of Public Safety. If you return to the state, you must reapply for a permit.

(LAC 55:I:1309.H)

However, L.R.S. 40:1379.3 (J) (3) and LAC 55:I:1307.D.2 (b) provides that a resident attending school or on active military duty in another state may reside outside the state with proper documentation to support this residency exemption.

M Middleton
Guest
M Middleton

Illinois is not reciprocal with Louisiana or Florida. I will have Illinois C&C, but my cruising boat travels all along the Gulf Coast from Florida to Texas, including Lake Ponchartrain and New Orleans. Can a non-resident frequent visitor qualify for Louisiana C&C – which seems to be reciprocal with a lot of “other states” not reciprocal with Illinois?

Jonathan
Guest
Jonathan

No. Tried that. Must posses valid la state id which is issued to residents only. As a military member I had to go to a local motor vehicle administration building show my orders assigning me to louisiana to prove residency and obtain a state id.

Mike
Guest
Mike

Get a florida ccw

D B
Guest
D B

Arizona or Utah might work as well