MARYLAND GUN LAWS
Maryland CCW QUICK FACTS
Maryland Reciprocity Map
Maryland CCW permit recognition
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
Maryland CCW Permit
Maryland is a “may issue” state.
The permit is valid for 2 years when first issued.
Renewals are valid for 3 years.
- Must be at least 18 years old.
- Has not been convicted of a felony or of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year.
- Has not been committed within the previous 10 years to any juvenile detention center for longer than one year.
- Is not an addict or alcoholic nor has ever been convicted of a narcotics offense.
- Has not, based on the results of investigation, exhibited a propensity for violence or instability.
- Must show good cause as to why you need a firearm
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
- Complete your firearm training course, 8 hours required.
- Download the application from under the FORMS tab.
- You will need the following documents;
- Completed application form
- Copies of firearms training certificate
- Passport size color photo, taken within last 30 days
- A money order or cashiers check for $67
- Present these to your local sheriff’s office.
- Your fingerprints will be taken.
- You will be notified within 45 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.
New Permits: $75
There is a fingerprint fee of $5.
WITH CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT
Where You Can Carry
- Places of worship
- Bars or restaurants where alcohol is served
- Sports arenas
- Gambling facilities
- Polling places
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state – except those listed below
Where You Cannot Carry
- State Parks
- National Forests
- Public schools
- Demonstration at a public place or in vehicle within 1000 feet of a demonstration.
- While under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Details on Maryland Gun Laws
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 45 days of the application being received.
Maryland gun laws do not state that you must inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm. The law does require you to carry your permit at all times you have a firearm on you and present the permit if requested by an officer.
“No Weapons” signs statutes cannot be found in Maryland gun laws. We advise caution and to follow the instructions below.
GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
It is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle on a state highway, waterway, airway, or road or parking lot used by the public.
You may not have a loaded handgun in the vehicle if you are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Motorcycles fall under the definition of motor vehicles. Thus, the same requirements apply to licensees who carry a handgun while on a motorcycle.
There are exceptions; the handgun must be unloaded, in a case and ammunition separate. And preferably located where you do not have access to it such as the trunk. Furthermore, you can only transport a handgun between residence, to and from a repair shop, a shooting sporting event, between a residence and place of business if substantially owned and operated by the person.
If traveling through Maryland Federal law will cover you if the handgun is unloaded and in a locked case.
A permit/license is required to carry a firearm in Maryland. Open carrying a handgun even with a permit/license in Maryland could result in your permit/license being revoked.
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
It is illegal to carry a firearm in state parks, National forests, and wildlife management areas. You are permitted to carry in roadside rest areas.
State Police Licensing Division
Monday – Friday 8am – 4:30pm
Address 1111 Reisterstown Road
CityPikesville, MD 21208
Phone (410) 653-4500
Email [email protected]