Minnesota CCW Laws & Reciprocity Map
- Permitless carry
- Reciprocating states
- Restricted reciprocity
- No reciprocity
Minnesota gun laws operate on a shall-issue policy with permits being issued at the local level. The state has full preemption over local laws relating to firearms. Permits from other states will be honoured provided that states carry laws are similar to Minnesotas.
The gun laws in Minnesota are not restrictive and lay somewhere in the middle when compared to other states. Non-residents of the state can also apply for a CCW permit without too much difficulty although they will need to make a personal appearance in Minnesota. A couple of things that differ from other states is that you will need a permit to purchase a handgun and there is additional training required when you renew a permit to carry. The permit to carry acts as a permit to purchase and there is a seperate permit to purchase/transfer available if a person does not have the carry permit. Minnesota also has a duty to retreat law so a gun can only be used as a last resort.
Quick Facts on Minnesota Gun Laws
Summary of Minnesota Gun laws
- Minnesota concealed carry permit Info
- CCW training in Minnesota
- Application procedure for a Minnesota permit to carry
- Renewal procedure for a Minnesota permit to carry
- Minnesota reciprocity guide
- Essential forms for a Minnesota permit to carry
- Off-limit places in Minnesota for carrying a firearm
- Minnesota constitutional provisions
- Minnesota gun laws & statutes
- Handgun purchases in Minnesota
- Minnesota licensing offices
- FAQ on Minnesota gun laws
- Minnesota concealed carry links
Minnesota Concealed Carry Permit
- Must be at least 21 years old
- You must be a US citizen or legal alien.
- Completed a firearms training course.
- Have no Felony
- No Drug violations
- No Violent crimes
- No misdemeanor punishable by more than two years in prison
- You must not have any outstanding warrants
- You must not be subject to a current restraining order
- It must be more than five years since any treatment for drug or alcohol addiction.
- If you have been hospitalized for mental illness, you must submit an affidavit from a registered physician endorsing your ability to possess a firearm.
- Federal Law - Prohibits the following persons
Address & Name Changes
Stolen or Lost Permits
Application fee's for a permit to carry in Minnesota vary in each county and are set by the county sheriff's office.
The sheriff's office is restricted by law as to the maximum amount they can charge for a permit. For new permits the fee cannot be set to more than $100 and $75 for renewals. There is a $10 late fee if a renewal application is made after the permits expiry date. The late fee can only be charged for up to 30 days after the permits expiry date and then a new permit application must be filed.
CCW Training in Minnesota
- Instructions on how to use a pistol.
- Successful completion of a shooting exercise.
- Legal aspects of Possessing, carrying and using a pistol.
- When deadly force can be used and restrictions on it's use.
- Peace officers employed in Minnesota within the last year.
- The Sheriff may also accept other evidence of training in the safe use of a pistol. However, the law does not define what the evidence can be so it is left up to the discretion of the sheriff.
Application Procedure For a Minnesota Permit to Carry
Download the Permit To Carry a Pistol application form. You can also pick the application form up at your county sheriff's office.
- A completed application form.
- A photocopy of your firearms training course certificate.
- A photocopy of identification, this can be a state drivers license, ID card or the photo page from your passport.
- The law states that the county sheriff has 30 days from the application date in which to approve or deny a carry permit.
- If a person is wrongfully denied a permit (decided by courts) then the sheriff is required to reimburse all legal fees incurred by the applicant.
- A carry permit is a valid purchase permit and authorises unlimited purchases for the life of the permit, (5 years).
Renewal Procedure For a Minnesota Permit to Carry
Download the renewal application form. This is the same form used for initial permit applications, you will need to check the renewal box on the form.
- 90 days before expiration date - Permits can be renewed within this time period.
- 30 days after expiration date - Permits can still be renewed but there will be an additional late fee of $10.
- 31 days after expiration date - Permits can no longer be renewed. You will need to begin a new application for a permit to carry.
NOTE - Expired permits are not valid until a new card is issued.
Minnesota Reciprocity Guide
Minnesota law requires the Commissioner to publish each year a list of states that have concealed carry laws that are not similar to the laws of Minnesota. The list must be published on the internet and any CCW permits from states on the list WILL NOT be honored in Minnesota. Check out the official Minnesota state reciprocity list.
- Must be at least 21 years old.
- Class 1 permits only and at least 21 years old.
- Enhanced permits only.
- Enhanced permits only and at least 21 years old.
District of Columbia
- Must be at least 18 years old.
- Must be at least 19 years old.
- Must be at least 21 years old.
Essential forms for a Minnesota permit to carry
Off-limit places in Minnesota for carrying a firearm
Restricted Carry Locations
- Public or private elementary, middle or secondary school building and grounds;
- A child care center while children are present;
- School buses being used to transport elementary, middle, or secondary school students to and from school-related activities,
- Portion of a building or facility under the temporary, exclusive control of a public or private school where signs are posted;
- Public colleges and universities (may have policies restricting the carrying of weapons on their premises by employees and students while on campus);
- Minnesota courts have ruled that a church may prohibit firearms from its property, including parking facilities and parking areas owned or operated by the church, and may notify its employees and the public in any manner it chooses;
- Private establishments that have posted a sign banning guns on their premises;
- Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by its employees;
- Innkeepers may refuse to admit or refuse service or accommodations to any person the innkeeper reasonably believes is bringing firearms into the hotel;
- Any public place when under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or any combination thereof;
- State correctional facilities; State hospitals and grounds; Any jail, lockup or correctional facility;
- and Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by federal law or state law or regulation.
"The right of any person to keep or bear arms in defense of his own home, person and property, or in aid of the civil power when thereto legally summoned, shall not be called in question, but nothing herein contained shall be held to permit the carrying of concealed weapons."
Minnesota gun laws & statutes
Minnesota gun laws you need to know
- Without a carry permit you are not allowed to carry any loaded firearm in a vehicle. If you unload the firearm and place it either in a closed trunk or in a closed and fastened case, gunbox or securely tied package then it is legal to carry the firearm in a motor vehicle, snowmobile or boat.
- With a carry permit you will be able to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle.
- To open carry in Minnesota you will need a carry permit from either Minnesota or a state whose permits Minnesota honours.
- Local authorities cannot restrict open carry as the state law preempts all local laws.
- A first conviction of open carry without a permit is classed as a gross demeanour and a second conviction is a felony.
- You are not required to inform a police officer that you are carrying a firearm.
- However, if a police officer requests to see your permit you must hand it to him and if he asks if you are carrying a concealed weapon then you must confirm wether or not you are.
- The law requires you to have on your person a carry permit and some form of state ID such as a drivers licence when you are carrying a firearm.
- Gun signs are not enforced in Minnesota and do not have the force of law.
- The only time a gun sign would have the force of law is if it is posted on state property that is mentioned in state law as being off-limits.
- If you enter a posted property and are asked to leave then you will need to leave. Failure to leave can result in a trespass charge.
- State parks
- Natural areas
- State/national forests
- Wildlife management areas
- Roadside rest areas
- Bayport WMA in Washington County
- Hastings WMA in Dakota County
- Raguet WMA in Scott and Carver Counties
There are no specific Minnesota statutes that forbid carrying a firearm in a restaurant or bar. If the restaurant is not displaying a No Weapons sign and you are not under the influence then you can enter a restaurant that serves alcohol.
You are legally under the influence if you a greater than .04 blood alcohol level.
Self Defence Laws
Red Flag Law
History of Minnesota gun laws
Handgun Purchases in Minnesota
Exemptions from Background Checks
- In Minnesota you will need either a Permit to Carry a Pistol or a permit to Transfer/Purchase a Firearm to buy or transfer the ownership of a pistol.
- To apply for a Permit to Transfer/Purchase a Firearm you will need to submit the application in person to your local sheriff's office or chief of police or the county sheriff's office. Some form of state ID such as a drivers license will be required.
- When your application is submitted the sheriff's office will run a background check, this can take up to 7 days to complete. If you clear the check then a Permit to Transfer/Purchase will be mailed to you. The permits are valid for a period of 1 year from it's issue date.
- If you are only purchasing one firearm you can often apply directly at the gun shop. There may be a fee for this service and a background check will still be required.
Minnesota Licensing Offices
- Minnesota residents only option is to apply at their local Sheriff's office.
- Non-residents of Minnesota have a few more options. They can file an application with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension or at any Minnesota county sheriffs office.
The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension only deals with non-resident CCW permits and will not accept applications from Minnesota residents. Clicking on the link will provide more information at their website.
Bureau of Criminal Apprehension
Minnesota Dept. of Public Safety
St. Paul, MN 55106
Fax: (651) 793-7001