NEVADA GUN LAWS
The Best Guide in 2018
This is simply the best resource for Nevada gun laws. Get the latest laws and info for Nevada.
Nevada gun laws operate at the local county level on a "Shall Issue" policy. Nevada has traditionally been a open carry state with more areas accessible to a person who is open carrying than one who is concealed carrying. A training course is required to obtain a concealed carry permit with the minimum age being 21, or 18 if in the military. There is no registration of firearms required and residents or non-residents can purchase long guns in Nevada.
Nevada CCW Quick Facts
Nevada CCW Dashboard
Nevada CCW Reciprocity
How Reciprocity Works in Nevada
Signed Reciprocity Agreements
Nevada has signed reciprocity agreements with 30 other states. For a full list please go to the official state reciprocity list.
Nevada Reciprocity State's
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
- Idaho - Nevada will only honor the Idaho Enhanced permit.
- Mississippi - Only the Mississippi Enhanced permit is honored in Nevada.
- South Dakota - Only the South Dakota Enhanced permit is honored in Nevada.
Nevada Handgun Permit
Nevada Gun Policy
Permit Issued To
CCW Permit Overview
Previously you had to state the type of firearm and serial number on the permit application. This is not required now and you can obtain a permit for any type of firearm. Applications are made at the sheriffs office in your county of residence. For Clark county residents applications must be submitted to the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police department. Military personnel aged between 18 - 20 can obtain a permit if they are on active duty or have been honorably discharged.
NRS202.3657 - Permit Applications
Non-Resident permits are issued to any one that qualifies. However, you must apply in person at the issuing office which means you will need to make a trip to the state. And any training requirements must be done in Nevada. Sounds like a good excuse for a Las Vegas holiday. The application process is exactly the same as for residents.
NRS202.3657 - Non-resident permits
Handgun TrainingAll handgun training must take place in Nevada, online or out of state courses will not be accepted. There are some counties that require any training to take place in the county where you file the application.
- Nevada CCW Firearm Permit Requirements
- Nevada CCW Firearm Permit Application
- Nevada CCW Firearm Permit Renewal
- Nevada CCW Firearm Permit Fee's
- Must be at least 21 years of age or more.
- Provide the documentation to demonstrate competence with a firearm.
- Not a fugitive from justice.
- Have not been judicially declared mentally incompetent or insane.
- Have not been admitted to a mental health facility within the last 5 years.
- Have not habitually used intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired, including DUI convictions within five previous years and Medical Marijuana Patients.
- Have not been convicted of a crime involving the use, or threatened use of force or violence, including misdemeanor convictions, within the last three (3) years.
- Have not been convicted of a felony.
- Have not been convicted of a crime involving domestic violence or stalking, or you are currently subject to a restraining order or other order of protection against violence.
- You are not currently on parole or probation.
- Have not been, within the preceding five (5) years, subject to any requirements imposed by a court as a condition to:
- Withholding the entry of judgment for your conviction of a felony, or
- Suspension of your sentence for the conviction of a felony, or
- Indictment by a Grand Jury.
- Have not made a false statement on any application.
- You are lawful resident of the United States.
- You are not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal law, city and/or county ordinances.
- Federal law requirements
Nevada CCW Handgun Forms
Download Your Forms
Nevada: Places Off-Limits for CCW
Places Off-Limits in Nevada
- Public schools and private schools
- Child-care facilities
- Facilities belonging to the University of Nevada, the Community College System, any other vocational/technical school
- Law enforcement agency facilities
- Courthouses and courtrooms
- Hoover Dam
- Prisons, jails and detention facilities
- Any buildings with metal detectors or signs prohibiting firearms at each public entrance
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Places Allowed in Nevada
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state not listed as Off-Limits
Pointers: Nevada Gun Laws
History Of Nevada Gun Laws
Learn Nevada's Gun History
Nevada Concealed Carry Laws
Nevada Gun Laws To Know
YES - Without a permit
There is no law against carrying handguns in a vehicle. The handgun must be visible if on a person. Handguns in a glove box, on or under a seat are allowed. You will need a permit to conceal carry a handgun in a holster or pocket while in a vehicle.
There is however a law for carrying long guns and shotguns in vehicles. Whenever these firearms are carried in a vehicle they must be unloaded, this means there cannot be a cartridge in the chamber, but you can have a loaded magazine in the firearm.
NRS 503.165 - Loaded rifle
NO - Must Inform Officer
There is nothing in Nevada gun laws that says you must inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm.
You are required by law to carry your CCW permit with identification and show these to law enforcement if they request them.
NRS202.3667 - Must carry permit
It is legal to carry in the following areas;
- State Parks: YES - NAC 407.105
- State/National Forests: YES - NAC 407.105
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES - NRS202.3673
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Nevada gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.
Most signs on public buildings only ban concealed carry. You will find you have greater access to areas if you open carry.
GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons" sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
YES - Without a permit
Open carry in Nevada is legal. The minimum age is 18 years old.
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
There are no laws in Nevada regarding a open or concealed firearm in a bar or drinking establishment. It's a different story if you are carrying a firearm and have consumed too much alcohol as it then becomes a crime if you have a blood alcohol content of more than (BAC) .10 or greater.
"Yes" or "No" states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with "NO GUN" signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a "Yes" then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
Nevada does not have constitutional carry.
(Art. I, § 11)
Nevada Off-Limit Statutes
Other Nevada CCW Statutes
Other Nevada Gun Laws
The law was changed in November, 2016 by referendum to require that all private gun sales have a background check. However, the Attorney General has released an opinion that the law is unenforceable. Furthermore, the FBI has stated it will not conduct background checks on private sales and that a state cannot dictate how federal programs operate.
The Attorney General in response has said citizens will not be prosecuted if they do not comply with the Act.
Nevada CCW FAQ's
Nevada CCW Contact
Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Dept.
Monday – Friday 8am – 3pm
Address 400 Sth. Martin Luther King Blvd.
CityLas Vegas, NV 89106
Phone (702) 828-3271