OREGON GUN LAWS
Full Guide for 2018
Oregon gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” policy handgun license applications being processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office. Oregon differs slightly from other states in that it has very few restrictions on where a concealed handgun can be carried. Additionally Oregon is an open carry state with local cities and counties authorized to place restrictions on persons who open carry but do not have a concealed handgun license. The Oregon State police also keep records of all gun sales from FFL dealers which are supposed to be destroyed after a period of 5 years.
Oregon CCW Quick Facts
Oregon CCW Reciprocity
How Reciprocity Works in Oregon
Oregon will not honor any concealed carry licenses from other states.
Oregon Reciprocity State's
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia
Oregon does not honor any other states concealed carry licenses.
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia
Oregon CCW License
Oregon Issue Policy
License Issued To
Handgun License Overview
Applicants for a concealed carry license need to be at least 21 years or older and have completed a firearms training course. The Sheriff is given discretion as to whether or a not a license will be issued and can deny a handgun license if he thinks the applicant is a danger to themselves or others, there are no guidelines on how these decisions should be made. Other than that the application process is fairly easy and must be approved or denied within 45 days.
Only residents of states that border Oregon can apply for a non-resident handgun license. You can apply at any sheriffs office in Oregon however the license is issued on a "May Issue" basis.
It is left to the discretion of the sheriff if a license will be issued and some sheriffs are requiring the applicant to supply two references. There are some sheriffs who will not issue to non-residents.
Residents of the following states may apply for an Oregon handgun license;
You will need to demonstrate that you are competent with a handgun. To do this you will need to show a certificate or statement from;
- Hunter safety course
- Firearm safety course by police or NRA certified instructors.
- Online handgun safety course.
- Written evidence from shooting competition.
- Written evidence from military service.
- Oregon Concealed Handgun License Requirements
- Oregon Concealed Handgun License Application
- Oregon Concealed Handgun License Renewal
- Oregon Concealed Handgun License Fee's
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Demonstrate competence with a handgun
- Have your principal residence in the county application is filed in.
- Have your current address on your driver’s license
- Be a citizen of the US
- Have no legal condition that would prohibit you from possessing a firearm under either Oregon or Federal law.
- Have no outstanding warrants for your arrest.
- Not be an unlawful user of, or addicted to, a controlled substance.
- Not be on any form of pre-trial release.
- Not registered as a sex offender in any state.
- Have been discharged from the jurisdiction of a juvenile court for more than four years if you were under their jurisdiction for committing an act which, if committed by an adult, would have constituted a felony or a misdemeanor.
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Oregon CCW Forms
Download Your Forms
Oregon: Places Off-Limits for CCW
Places Off-Limits in Oregon
- Posted private property where the owner prohibits firearms
- Posted private businesses
- State courthouses
- Correctional facility
- Indian resevation and some casinos on reservations, unless permission granted
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Places Allowed in Oregon
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state - except those listed as off limits
Pointers: Oregon Gun Laws
Oregon Concealed Carry Laws
Oregon Gun Laws To Know
YES - Without a license
There are no state laws that ban the carrying of loaded firearms in a vehicle provided the firearm is not concealed or not readily accessible. However, local governments can set their own laws on public places which includes vehicles. So you would need to check the local regulations.
If you have a Handgun licence then none of the above applies to you.
NO - Must Inform Officer
Oregon gun laws make no mention of informing law enforcement you have a weapon. The laws do state that you must have with you at all times you are carrying a firearm your permit and produce this when requested.The Law
YES - Without a license
You are legally entitled to open carry in Oregon with the minimum age being 18. However, local governments can set their own laws for persons who do not have a handgun license and are carrying a loaded handgun. So you must check up on the local laws before you open carry.
If you open carry without a handgun license then all public buildings are off limits.
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Oregon gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons" sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
You are permitted to carry in the following areas;
- State Parks: YES
- State/National Forests: YES - Dept of Forestry 629.025.0050
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES - ORS 166.37
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
"Yes" or "No" states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with "NO GUN" signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a "Yes" then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
Oregon is not a constitutional carry state.
"The people shall have the right to bear arms for the defense of themselves, and the state, but the Military shall be kept in strict subordination to the civil power"
(Art. I, Section 27)
Oregon Off-Limit Statutes
Other Oregon Statutes
Oregon CCW FAQ's
Oregon CCW Contact
Marion County Sheriff
Monday – Friday 8:30am – 5pm
Address 555 Court St NE,
CitySalem, OR 97301