SOUTH DAKOTA GUN LAWS

south dakota state seal

QUICK FACTS

Carry In Vehicle SEE DETAILS
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks AllowedYES
No Weapons Signs Enforced NO
Open Carry Permitted YES
Carry In Liquor Establishments YES
Constitutional Carry NO

Permit Information


South Dakota gun laws allow concealed carry permits to be issued to residents only. There are exemptions for military personnel posted to the state. Permits are processed at the county level by the local sheriff’s office. Applicants must be at least 18 years or older. There are three permits available; Regular, Gold, and Enhanced. The Enhanced permit is to obtain more reciprocity and requires a firearms training course. Upon application the Sheriff will issue a temporary permit within 5 days. Open carry is legal without a permit.

states that
0
honor a south dakota permit
state permits
0
south dakota honors

CCW Reciprocity Map

south dakota

CCW permit recognition

  • Permit honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Enhanced permit only
  • Issuing state


Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permits/Licenses

South Dakota is a “shall issue” state.
Residents only.
The permit is valid for 5 years.

NOTE – three types of permit are available;
Regular – requires clean SD criminal record for five years.
Gold card – requires fingerprinting and a Federal background check.
Enhanced – requires fingerprinting, Federal background check and a firearms safety course.

  • Is eighteen years of age or older.
  • Has never pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, or been convicted of a felony or a crime of violence.
  • Is not habitually in an intoxicated or drugged condition.
  • Has no history of violence.
  • Has not been found in the previous ten years to be a "danger to others" or a "danger to self" or is not currently adjudged mentally incompetent.
  • Has physically resided in and is a resident of the county where the application is being made for at least thirty days.
  • Has had no violations of firearms control, unlawful use of weapons, or controlled substances; marijuana, constituting a felony or misdemeanor in the preceding five years.
  • Is a citizen of the United States or legal resident alien.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons

Off Limit Areas

Where You Can Carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed below

Where You Cannot Carry

  • An establishment licensed to serve alcoholic beverages on the premises if the establishment derives more than 50% of its sales from alcoholic beverages
  • A county courthouse
  • An elementary or secondary school premises, including school vehicles or buildings
  • A snowmobile, unless firearm is unloaded and entirely enclosed in a carrying case
  • A game preserve or refuge
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Details on South Dakota Gun Laws

Get in Touch


Minnehaha County Sheriff

Hours


Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact


Address 415 N. Dakota Ave

CitySioux Falls, SD 57104

Phone (605) 367-4300

 

Comments

  1. Curious about wearing a mask and concealed carry in SD, Anyone know the decisions made or being made concerning this?

  2. With the pushing of face masks with Covid, is there a law against Concealed Carry and face coverings in SD? I know in some states it is a felony, to cover your face if carrying.

  3. In south dakota can I carry a loaded pistol? I have a conceal carry permit but asking about it being loaded. By that I mean a loaded clip in the gun but not one in the chamber.

  4. I am going to live in my RV full-time. I have a CCW from my current resident state (NC) but am selling my home and plan to establish SD residency. SD has programs that allow full-time RVers the ability to use SD as their state of residence which I plan to do for at least a year, possibly much longer. It depends on how well I like full-time RV life.
    Would I have to spend 30 days physically in SD to qualify for a SD CCW? I would go for the enhanced license. I took a full-day training course to obtain the NC CCW around 2005 and I passed the California Hunter’s Safety course in 1971. Obviously, my background is completely clean.

    I’ll do whatever I need to do in order to get the CCW. I’m female and will be traveling in the RV on my own most of the time.

    Thank you for your guidance.

    1. We are also thinking of selecting SD as our domicile and would love to know if you get an answer for this.

      For what it’s worth, spending a month in the Black Hills waiting for the permit would be a pretty awesome way kill some time. It’s so beautiful there.

    2. Once you set up a mail service in South Dakota,which you should do ASAP,you will need to stay in the state for 32 days.
      After first 24 you become a resident then apply for permit which takes 30 days

  5. Does it mean i can carry a handgun for my family protection without a permit in state park, wma, state forest?

  6. When coming from Wyoming into South Dakota can u bring a loaded pistol in state when Wyoming is open carry without a permit ?

    1. From what ive read id say yes u can. Both states are open carry but u might want to ask the sheriff in the town u are visiting just to be safe.

    1. No. But u have to keep the ammo separate from the rifle. If possible id take out the bolt too. It can be in your car or truck but not where u can grab it. Its best to put it in the trunk or toolbox. Make sure u wrap it in a blanket to keep it from getting scratched. If u get stoped just tell the officer u have it. I put the ammo in the glovebox.

  7. Sioux Falls resident – never owned a gun but would like to. Any recommendations on pistol safety courses?

    1. The way i did it was while i was at the local gunshow there was a booth giving a class. After the class was over they gave u a deploma. I paid 80.00 for the class. And i took that to the sheriff’s dept and paid them 100.00 for fingerprinting and picture and background check. Just to be safe id also requmend a hunter safety course. I took that when i was 12. If u do get the permit id suggest buying the cheapest gun u can get in the calibre u want. If u do have to use it the cops will take it away and more then likely u wont get it bk. I spent 450.00 for 2-45s. I love my kimber but if i loose that I’m out 900.00 to 1200.00 bucks. I carry a taurus and a kar. My teurus is right on target. The kar i had to adjust the sights. So what ever u buy take time to fire it at a range. Good luck. Hope ive helped.

  8. Hi just curious for a friend he is a felon and has three DUIs can he own a gun or have one in his possession?

    1. no. not unless the person gets the charges amended. if they were misdemeanor DUIs then yes he is still able to own a firearm, but as soon as it becomes a felony then not allowed to own guns or vote and im sure some other rights are lost.

    2. Absolutely not. A felony is an immediate disqualification for possession of any firearm

    3. That is a big no. And if u buy him one u can go to jail too. Good luck

  9. For “paper purpose” I am a resident of Box Elder, SD. However, I would say my wife and I are “Full time RVers”, 24/7/365. I understand that certain states and municipalities have their own laws regarding residential restrictions but what is the official residence laws regarding carry a handgun in your RV? Ty

    1. first get permit to carry concealed, then know the laws of the area you are in. this can range from very gun friendly to states like NY and CA. Now having said this Rv;s to some LEO’s are Homes on wheels. So guns in a car might get you arrested and guns in your home are ok. in CA if you use a gun to defend your life you might end up in jail. even if your completely Innocent. So visiting these states can be very risky. But, we dont advertise that we have a gun right? so keep it on the down low. Ask yourself this. Are you willing to become a victim? Like most of us the answer is no. use your brain. be safe

      1. I’ve heard the same thing about the RV being your home. If it is your full-time home, it’s pretty clear that it is your home and should be treated the same as a residence that doesn’t have wheels.

        1. Some states are tricky on this. California for example. When it’s being driven down the road (or even towed, but probably way less of an issue with this if you just keep it in the trailer), it’s NOT a home. It’s your vehicle and those are the rules that apply. The moment you get it set up at a campsite.. boom… it’s your home and THOSE rules apply. 🙂

Leave a Comment