Utah Gun Laws

utah state seal

Utah gun laws are regarded as permissive however a permit is still required to carry a concealed firearm. Permits are issued to residents and non-residents who are 21 or older, have completed a firearms training course and meet other criteria. There is a provisional permit available for persons aged between 18-21. Applications are processed at the state level by the Bureau of Criminal Identification. Open carry of unloaded firearms is legal without a permit.

Utah CCW Quick Facts

Carry In Vehicle YES
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks Allowed YES
No Weapons Signs Enforced SEE DETAILS
Open Carry Permitted SEE DETAILS
Carry In Liquor Establishments YES
Constitutional Carry NO

Utah Concealed Carry Permit

REQUIREMENTS

Standard Permit

  • Must be at least 21 years of age.
  • Proof of good character.
  • Completed a firearms familiarity course certified by BCI.
  • Has not been convicted of a felony.
  • Has not been convicted of any crime of violence.
  • Has not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol.
  • Has not been convicted of any offenses involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances.
  • Has not been convicted of any offenses involving moral turpitude.
  • Has not been convicted of any offense involving domestic violence.
  • Has not been adjudicated by a court of a state or of the United States as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed.
  • Is qualified to purchase and possess a firearm.
  • Federal Law Requirements

Provisional Permit
Persons aged between 18 – 21 can obtain a provisional permit. Apart from the age, the requirements are the same as those for a standard permit. These permits are also issued to non-residents. However, there are a number of states that will not honor the provisional permit as the required age to carry concealed is 21 in these states.

Utah Gun Policy

Shall Issue

Permit Issued To

Residents, Non-Residents
Minimum
0
age required
cost of
$0
CCW permit
Years Permit
0
is valid
utah concealed carry permit
The new permit no longer has a red bar at the top.
total active ccw
0
permits in utah

Gun Laws

State rating
Good
states that honor
0
a utah permit
state permits
0
utah honors
states not
0
honoring permit

Utah CCW Dashboard

total active ccw
0
permits in utah

Gun Laws

State Rating
Good
Minimum
0
age required

Cost of
$0
a ccw permit

years permit
0
is valid
population
0%
with permit

Utah CCW Reciprocity

UTAH 2018

  • Permit Honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Residential permits only
  • Issuing state

How Reciprocity Works in Utah

  • The state of Utah will honor all other state permits.
  • There are 36 states that honor the standard Utah CCW permit.
  • However, 6 of these states will only honor a Utah residential permit.
  • And 19 states will not honor the Utah Provisional permit.

Standard & Provisional Permits

There are two types of permits in Utah, a Standard Permit and a Provisional Permit, the later being issued to persons aged between 18 - 21. Some states will not accept both these permits due to the low age requirements on the Provisional Permit. The standard permit is very popular for non-residents as it allows them to travel in 30 states with a handgun. For a full list of what permits a state will accept please look at the official reciprocity list.

Utah Reciprocity State's

0
STATES
RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

0
states
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York,North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

0
states
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina

Utah Non-Resident CCW

Utah Permits For Non-Residents

For people living in restrictive states like California the Utah Non-Resident permit has become a popular choice. It cannot be used in California but if you travel interstate regularly then it will allow you to carry in currently thirty other states.

Training

One of the conditions to obtain a ccw permit is that you attend a firearms training course with a Utah certified instructor. There is no need to travel to Utah as these courses are widely available in other states. There are currently 178 Utah certified instructors in California alone. A full list of Utah certified instructors is available on the state website.

Utah: Places Off-Limits for CCW

utah state flag
Utah state flag

Places Off-Limits in Utah

  • Any courthouse
  • Any secure area in which firearms are prohibited
  • Mental health facility
  • Correctional facility
  • Church or house of worship that has given notice firearms are prohibited
    • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
    • Congregation of Kol Ami
  • Secure area of airport
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Places Allowed in Utah

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state - except those listed as Off-Limits

Utah Open Carry

guns being open carried in utah
Open carry in Utah
With a Utah concealed carry permit you can openly carry a fully loaded firearm anywhere in Utah that is not listed as Off-Limits. When open carrying a firearm the places listed as Off-limits still apply.

For those who do not have a permit you can still carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle if the vehicle is in your lawful possession or you have been given consent from a person who has lawful possession of the vehicle and you are at least 18 years old. Without a permit you can only carry a loaded firearm inside the vehicle.

Once outside the vehicle you must carry an unloaded firearm. Utah’s definition of an unloaded firearm is that it must be two actions to firing;

  • Auto Loader – The magazine can be fully loaded but there can be no round in the guns chamber. To fire with two actions you would rack the slide and then squeeze the trigger.
  • Double Action Revolver – You can have a loaded chamber but the hammer must be down on the loaded chamber. And the next chamber that rotates up must be empty. This would require the trigger to be pressed two times for the gun to fire.
  • Single Action Pistols – the chamber must be empty with the hammer down. In this case you would first need to pull the hammer back and then squeeze the trigger.

Restricted Places
With no permit there are also more places that are Off-Limits for open carry. Schools are one example, with a permit you can open carry in schools but with no permit you cannot take a weapon into a school. There are also other places accessible with a permit but restricted to persons who do not have a permit.

Local authorities cannot regulate where open carry is allowed as the state preempts all firearm laws.

76.10.505 - Carrying Firearm
76.10.502 - Loaded firearm
76.9.102 - Disorderly conduct

Utah gun Sales, Preemption...

PRIVATE GUN SALES

Utah does not require background checks on private handgun or long gun sales. The buyer must be at least 18 years old.

Any person who transfers an automatic weapon, sawed-off rifle or sawed-off shotgun to a minor in violation of state or federal laws is guilty of a felony in the third degree.

History of Utah Gun Laws

middle eastern flint lock pistol
Middle Eastern flint lock pistol

Learn Utah's Gun History

1995 - Policy change

Utah switches from a May Issue policy to a Shall Issue policy.

2004 - Campus carry laws

Utah becomes the first state to allow firearms to be carried on college campuses. Several other states have now followed with Georgia becoming the 11th state in 2017.

Utah Concealed Carry Laws

utah state capitol building
Utah state capitol building

Utah Gun Laws To Know

YES – Without a permit
If a person is 18 or older and can legally possess a firearm then vehicle carry is legal if the vehicle is in the person’s lawful possession, or the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle.

If you do not have a permit then you must carry an unloaded firearm outside any vehicle.

The Law
76.10.505
76.10.511

YES/NO – Without a permit

Without a permit, you can only open carry a handgun if it is unloaded (no bullet in the chamber, but can have a full magazine) and at least two actions from being fired. As an example;
1. Rack the slide to chamber,
2. Then pull the trigger

If you have a permit then open carry with a loaded firearm is legal.

The Law
76.10.502
76.10.505

NO – Must Inform Officer

Utah gun laws do not require you to inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm. There is also no requirement to carry a permit.

GunsToCarry recommends that you should always carry your permit/license when there is a firearm on your person and for safety reasons identify yourself as a permit holder.

NO

Utah does not have Constitutional Carry.

YES

It is legal to carry in the following areas;

State Parks:    YES  
State/National Forests: YES  
State Wildlife Management Areas:  YES
Road Side Rest Areas:  YES

YES

“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol.

Nothing in Utah law prevents a person from carrying a concealed handgun in a bar or restaurant where alcohol is being served. You should be aware though that it is a crime to be in possession of a firearm if you are intoxicated. Intoxication levels are based on those used for driving a vehicle.

YES/NO

“No Weapons” signs under Utah gun laws have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits. The law specifically mentions “places of worship” and “private residences”. If any of these places has posted a “No Weapons” sign then it is illegal to enter. A place of business is not mentioned in the law so it would be legal to enter a posted business although we do not recommend that.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

The Law
76.10.530

“The people have the right to bear arms for their security and defense, but the legislature may regulate the exercise of this right by law”
Art. I § 6

no weapons sign in utah

Off-Limits Statutes

Other CCW Statutes

Utah CCW FAQ's

frequently asked questions on utah gun laws

Utah CCW Contacts

Department of Public Safety

Bureau of Criminal Identification

Hours


Monday – Friday 7am – 5:30pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact


Address 3888 West 5400 South

CitySalt Lake City, Utah 84129

Phone (801) 965-4445

 

Updates & Data Sources

49
Leave a Reply

avatar
23 Comment threads
26 Thread replies
3 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
39 Comment authors
Sean HensleyScottCarla AndersonJamieUwe Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Sean Hensley
Guest
Sean Hensley

Hello,

I can’t seem to find any information specifically about accidental brandishing or imprinting while conceal carrying. Can someone explain if there is any consequences to accidentally brandishing a CC weapon (for example your shirt coming up too high while reaching for something on a shelf at a grocery store and someone seeing)? Or if someone is able to see you imprinting in public?

Thanks,

Carla Anderson
Guest
Carla Anderson

I live in Utah and received an email solicitation to ‘Grandfather in Your Multi-State CCW Before the Elections’. I’m assuming this is nonsense, but thought I’d ask.

Uwe
Guest
Uwe

I live in Switzerland and will visit Utah with my legally imported handgun (temporary import via Form 6 NIA). From my understanding, I should be allowed to open carry my unloaded handgun (chamber empty). Does anyone know if I’m right? Thx, Uwe

Jamie
Guest
Jamie

Yes. A semi-auto must have 2 actions to fire for open carry in Utah. With a permit it can be loaded.

Dave
Guest
Dave

What are the Procedures for active police officers to apply for Utah ccw from out of state? Does anyone know?

RRR
Guest
RRR

What is the penalty for concealed carry without a permit?

Sean James
Guest
Sean James

The penalty does not matter, it is illegal, do not do it, it’s not worth it. Get a permit, it’s easy and cheap. Get training, it’s easy and cheap, and then practice as often as you can, it’s easy and cheap. And it’s your duty as a “law-abiding Citizen” NOT to break any laws, no matter what the penalty is. If you have a situation and harm another to protect yourself or others, while carrying concealed without a permit, you are probably looking at a Felony, that means Prison for more than 1 year, never to own a firearm again… Read more »

Dustie Preston
Guest
Dustie Preston

I’m looking for a list of venues which have received permission to ban concealed carry. Venues like concert halls, festivals and the like. Is there a list? No weapons are allowed in the Gay Pride festival area. Is this legal?

Daphne Gilpin
Guest
Daphne Gilpin

Thanks for explaining that some states won’t accept provisional permits because they have a lower age requirement. I’ve been trying to learn more about CCW permits because my husband is interested in getting one. I’m glad I read your article because I learned that we should pursue a standard permit instead of a provisional permit. https://basicgunsafety.com/

Shoua
Guest
Shoua

I just moved from California to Utah, and am in need of a full-size pistol. Is a Utah ID/driver’s license necessary to purchase one?

guest
Guest
guest

yes, as long as your address is up to date all you need is your ID and they will do a background check. Also moved to Utah from California

Sean James
Guest
Sean James

Yes, you must be a resident of the State to purchase a handgun within that State, or ANY State for that matter, it is a Federal Law. Or you may purchase a handgun from out of State (i.e. online), but it must be shipped to a Federal Firearms Licensed dealer (FFL gunshop) within the state where you live, then pay for your background check, fill out the Federal Government forms, and present a State issued I.D. before you can take possession of the handgun. I would recommend getting your Concealed Weapons Permit in UT, it is cheap and easy. And… Read more »

Terry L Parthemore
Guest
Terry L Parthemore

I have a trust and my guns are included to be disbursed to my sons upon my death. Are there any restrictions on this? I don’t have any Title II weapons.

Andy
Guest
Andy

can someone from Arizona buy a rifle or shotgun in utah?

Andy
Guest
Andy

I believe as long as the firearm is legal in Arizona.

Darrell
Guest
Darrell

Is it legal to saw the barrel of my shotgun? I live in salt lake btw.

Isaiah
Guest
Isaiah

No, it is not legal under a certain length.

Sean James
Guest
Sean James

Yes, as long as the Shotgun barrel is NOT less than 18″. This is FEDERAL and State law. But you better know what you are doing, measuring barrel length can be tricky, as the Federal laws have certain ways of measuring barrel lengths. If you are unsure, take it to a qualified Gunsmith. And keep it a little longer than the Federal/State minimum just to be safe and legal. It is a 10 year mandatory prison sentence if you screw up!

Riley
Guest
Riley

If I’m only 19 is it illegal for me to purchase a complete action assembly for a bolt action rifle? I want to build a custom rifle but I’m not sure if I’m old enough to buy an action separate from a complete rifle. I have to be 21 in order to buy an ar15 lower receiver. But is it a different story for a bolt action receiver? Any advice on this would be appreciated.

Jj fish
Guest
Jj fish

Why dont you shut your mouth foo

baylee
Guest
baylee

It is the same all lower receiver you have to be 21

Francis
Guest
Francis

I plan on relocating to Utah and want to bring my long guns and handguns with me as secured luggage instead of mailing to an FFL dealer due to its cheaper. i have copies of the atf 4473 forms for all the guns showing that i am cleared and approved likewise local laws also mandated all were required to be registered to me as proof of my ownership.
What requirements do i need to fulfill if any to keep,use,carry these heirlooms,upon arrival ? Any information that would help a fellow 2nd amendment follower on this journey? Thanks in advance!

J R
Guest
J R

As far as I know Utah doesn’t require any type of registration or permits for semiautomatic /bolt action/single load, long guns or handguns. I think I heard about a new law on the books or maybe just up for vote in the state senate that makes you responsible for securing your firearms where children or restricted people can’t access them.

J R
Guest
J R

I forgot to mention in utah your car is considered the same as your home when it comes to firearms anything you can legally posses in your home can be carried in your vehicle.

Sean James
Guest
Sean James

Utah does not regulate new Citizens firearms moving into the State. No need to contact or notify any Government agency when bringing your personal, LAWFULLY owned firearms into Utah. As long as your guns are legal to own under Federal law, they are considered your “Private Property” in Utah.

Matthew
Guest
Matthew

It’s been 12 years since I was convicted of felony. How do I get my firearm rights back? It was a non-violent felony.

Jeb
Guest
Jeb

You should vote for a candidate that is in favor of felons regaining firearm rights and hope they are able to both win an election and are able to change the existing laws. Otherwise you many not legally carry or possess a firearm.

Sean
Guest
Sean

You must consult with an attorney. There are some instances where you may get the conviction “expunged”.

Scott
Guest
Scott

You may apply for a full pardon with all rights restored, including the right to possess a firearm. You need to contact Roth the board of pardons or an attorney to find or the requirements of the specific state in which you were convicted. Speaking from experience.

Gabriel matuzak
Guest
Gabriel matuzak

So I’m 23, my mom lives in oregon and wants to gift me a gun for birthday/Christmas. I live in utah so how would I go about this?

Big Elvis
Guest
Big Elvis

Went through a similar situation myself – firearm in Missouri that my sister wanted to gift to me in Utah. Your mom will have to ship to an FFL in Utah – you’ll pick it up from the FFL. The receiving FFL usually charges a fee (mine was $25).

Russell Lee
Guest
Russell Lee

My daughter had a protective order when she got divorce 5 years ago. The order has sense been dropped. Can she now possess a firearm? She was attacked last month and I would like her to be able to defend herself, if this was to happen again.

Big Elvis
Guest
Big Elvis

Assuming daughter is in Utah… your best bet is for daughter to get her Concealed Firearm Permit. Requires a 4 hour class (which typically costs around $40), filling out the required paperwork (they’ll help her through it in the class), and a $57 application fee. The Utah Bureau of Criminal Identification promises 60 day turnaround, but it’s typically a bit quicker.

Claude Duncan
Guest
Claude Duncan

Congregation of Kol Ami is no longer on places off limits they was drop from BCI churches.

Skip
Guest
Skip

I am heading to Utah from CA. I have a valid CA CCW permit. I understand that Utah honors my CA permit to conceal carry, does this mean I am allowed to open carry “loaded” (one in the chamber)?

Claude Duncan
Guest
Claude Duncan

yes you can

Utah
Guest
Utah

The state of Utah will honor all other state permits. With a Utah concealed carry permit you can openly carry a fully loaded firearm anywhere in Utah that is not listed as Off-Limits. When open carrying a firearm the places listed as Off-limits still apply.

Joe Amo
Guest
Joe Amo

I have had a NY CCW permit for the past 30 years. However, even though NY only issues one type of CCW permit the county where you reside can put restrictions on your permit. My current CCW permit has a Target restriction which means I can carry it concealed and loaded back and forth to the range and other shooting events. When applying for a UTAH non-resident CCW permit does the NY Target restriction transfer over to the UTAH permit. My gut feel is no because it doesn’t make sense but I thought I’d ask anyway.

Steve
Guest
Steve

No. Utah has no stupid restrictions like that on the permit.

Jim Fortini
Guest
Jim Fortini

I was told by someone that had their non-resident Utah LTCF, that the FBI conducts a background check on individuals possessing the non-resident LTCF on a regular basis. I would assume that due to the amount of permits from non-residents is absolutely impossible to for any bureau to check them all . My question is, how often is a persons background checked when holding a non-resident Utah LTCF??

Steve
Guest
Steve

BCI conducts a background check on all nonresident permits every 90 days. Background checks on resident permits are conducted every night. All checks are through 9 systems.