WASHINGTON GUN LAWS
Get The Latest Facts For 2018
Washington gun laws operate on a "Shall Issue" policy. Open carry is legal without a permit but not common, you will need a permit if you want to carry a handgun in a vehicle (car, bus, train). Concealed carry permits are issued to residents and non-residents by the local sheriff or Police Department. There is no requirement to attend a firearms training course in Washington but you must be at least 21 years old and meet other conditions to obtain a license.
Washington CPL Quick Facts
Washington CCW Dashboard
Washington CPL Reciprocity
How Reciprocity Works in Washington
Under Washington law the state can only honor another states concealed carry license if;
- the other state honors a Washington concealed carry license.
- The state does not issue CPL licences to persons under the age of 21.
- The state has fingerprint based checks for background and mental health history on applicants.
Currently only 9 states meet these requirements for their licenses to be honored by Washington.
Washington Reciprocity State's
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin
North Dakota - Only the Class 1 North Dakota Permit is honored by Washington.
Washington Handgun License
Washington Gun Policy
Permit Issued To
CPL License Overview
The area you reside in will determine who you apply to for a handgun license.
- If you reside in an unincorporated area of a county applications are made at the sheriffs office.
- If you reside in an incorporated city area of a county the you can apply at either the sheriff office or the police department.
- If you reside in another state then you can apply for a license at any local law enforcement agency in Washington.
Non-resident CCW licenses are issued in Washington state. The process is the same as for a resident of Washington but cannot be done via mail and requires that you appear in person. This means you will need to make a trip to Washington to obtain the license. The application process will take about 60 days.
- Washington CPL Handgun License Requirements
- Washington CPL Handgun License Application
- Washington CPL Handgun License Renewal
- Washington CPL Handgun License Fee's
- Must be at least 21 years of age.
- Have no pending charges.
- Have no outstanding arrest warrants.
- Have no felony convictions.
- Are not subject to a court order or injunction concerning the possession of firearms.
- Are not free on bond or personal recognizance while awaiting trial, appeal, or sentencing for a felony offense.
- Have not been asked to forfeit a firearm within the last 12 months.
- Do not have a revoked concealed pistol license.
- You have no mental health conditions.
- Federal Law Requirements
Washington CPL Handgun Forms
Download Your Forms
Washington: Places Off-Limits for CPL
Places Off-Limits in Washington
- Public schools
- Correctional facility
- Law enforcement facility
- State courthouses
- Mental health facilities
- Outdoor music festival
- Secured areas in airports
- Places listed below that have Rules that state no firearms allowed on Premises;
- Licensed Child Care Facilities,
- Racing Association Grounds,
- An Emergency Respite Center,
- Licensed Pregnant and Parenting Teen Residential Programs And Their Facilities,
- Licensed Homes and Facilities That Provide Care To Children,
- Overnight Youth Shelter & Residence Operated By the Juvenile Rehabilitation Administration
- All facilities operated by the Office of Administrative Hearings
- Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.
Places Allowed in Washington
- State parks
- State and national forests
- Road side rest areas
- All areas of the state, except those listed as Off-Limits
Washington CPL Video Clips
Other Washington Gun Laws
Any private sale of firearms in Washington is required to be completed through a licensed firearms dealer. The dealer must complete a background check on the purchaser and keep a record of the sale. There are some exceptions to the law as follows;
- Gifts between family members or spouses.
- Sales of antique guns.
- Transfers of a firearm to a gunsmith for repairs.
- Guns acquired by the executors of an estate when the owner dies.
A licensed dealer can only sell a handgun if the purchaser has a concealed carry license or undergoes a background check. The dealer is required to not transfer the handgun to the new owner for 10 days or when the results of the background are obtained, whichever one occurs first. Should the purchaser not have a valid Washington state ID card or drivers license, or has not resided in the state for at least 90 days then the waiting period can be extended to 60 days.
Washington Concealed Carry Laws
Washington Gun Laws To Know
NO – Without a permit
Without a License – If you do not have a permit then it is illegal to carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle. You can still carry a firearm if it is unloaded and in a closed opaque case or secure wrapper.
With a License – you can carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle as long as you have your permit with you at all times.
NO – Must Inform Officer
Washington gun laws require you to have your CCW license on you at all times you are carrying a firearm and display the permit to an officer if requested to do so. You do not have to inform law enforcement you are carrying a firearm.
RCW 9.41.050 – Carrying firearms
It is legal to carry in the following areas;
- State Parks: YES – WAC 352.32.120
- State/National Forests: YES – WAC 332.52.145
- State Wildlife Management Areas: YES – WAC 220.500.140
- Road Side Rest Areas: YES
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Washington gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
YES – with or Without a permit
Open carry without a permit is legal. However, you will need a CCW license to carry a loaded firearm in any vehicle. Any vehicle means cars, buses, and trains. The minimum age for open carry is 21.
YESIn Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
You are restricted to areas of the restaurant where persons under the age of 21 are allowed.
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
NOWashington does not have constitutional carry.
(Art. I, § 24)
Washington Off-Limit Statutes
Other Washington CCW Statutes
Washington CPL FAQ's
Washington CPL Contact
King County Courthouse
Monday – Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm
Address 516 Third ave, Rm W-150
CitySeattle, WA 98104
Phone (206) 263-2626