WISCONSIN GUN LAWS

The Latest Guide


Get the latest facts on Wisconsin gun laws with this quick guide.
Everything you need to know is on this page.
Keep reading...

Image

Wisconsin gun laws operate at the state level with concealed weapons licenses being issued by the Department of Justice. Licenses are only issued to residents of the state with no options for a non-resident to obtain a license. There are no firearm registration requirements or laws limiting the capacity of magazines or any requirement for background checks on private gun sales. In Wisconsin open carry is legal for any person that is 18 years or older and not prohibited from possessing a firearm under state and federal laws.

Wisconsin CCW Quick Facts

Carry In Vehicle SEE DETAILS
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks Allowed YES
No Weapons Signs Enforced YES
Open Carry Permitted YES
Carry In Restaurant YES
Constitutional Carry NO
total active ccw
0
licenses in Wisconsin

Gun Laws

State rating
Average
states that honor
0
a wisconsin license
state licenses
0
wisconsin honors
states not
0
honoring license

Wisconsin Dashboard

total active CCW
0
licenses in Wisconsin

Gun Laws

State Rating
Average
states Permit
0
honored in

Permits
0
WI Honors

states permit
0
not honored
population
0%
with permit

Wisconsin CCW Reciprocity

WISCONSIN 2018
  • Permit Honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Residential permits only
  • Issuing state

How Reciprocity Works in Wisconsin

Wisconsin will honor all non-resident permits from the states they honor provided the holder of the permit is at least 21 years old. More information on reciprocity can be found at the state website.

Wisconsin Reciprocity State's

0
STATES

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wyoming

0
states

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

0
states

California, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington.

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia

  • Virginia – Wisconsin will not honor the Virginia Resident Permit/License only their Non Resident Permit/License.
  • Missouri – Only licenses issued/renewed on or after 8/28/13 are honored in Wisconsin.
  • Ohio – Only Permits Issued/renewed on or after March 23, 2015 are honored in Wisconsin.
  • Massachusetts – Only Honors the Class A Massachusetts Permit.
  • South Dakota – Wisconsin Only Honors the Enhanced and Gold Licenses.

Wisconsin Pistol License

Wisconsin Issue Policy

Shall Issue

License Issued To

Residents

CCW License Overview

Permits are issued to residents only, who are 21 or older, have completed a firearms training course, and meet other criteria. Applications are processed at the state level by the Wisconsin Department of Justice and can be filed online or by mail.

An emergency license is available and is valid for 30 days. To obtain one you will need to obtain permission from a Court in the county you reside in and prove that you need a firearm to protect yourself from death or bodily harm.

Non-Resident Licenses

Non-resident licenses are only issued to military personnel if they are stationed in Wisconsin.

The Law
175.60(1)(dm) and 175.60(14)(c)

Handgun Training

If you are planning on getting a CCL then you will be required to provide proof that you have completed a firearms safety training course. The course is a 4-6 hour class with no shooting involved. After completing the course you will be given a certificate which can be submitted online. Training is only required if you want to obtain a CCL license, no license is required to openly carry.

The following documents will be accepted as proof of training;

  • The hunter education program or a similar program from another state.
  • A current or expired CCW license from another state with form DJ-LE-289 to verify it has not been revoked.
  • Proof of security, military or law enforcement training.
  • Certificate issued for the Department of Justice Firearm Safety Course.
  • Certificate from a firearms course taught by a state or national organization that certifies firearms instructors or a course offered to the public by a law enforcement agency.

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years old
  • Applicant can provide adequate proof of training
  • Applicant is not prohibited by a court order from possessing a firearm
  • Applicant is a Wisconsin resident as indicated by a current and valid Wisconsin driver’s license or identification card or is active military stationed in Wisconsin.
  • You have not been convicted of a felony in Wisconsin
  • You have not been convicted of a crime elsewhere that would be a felony if convicted in Wisconsin.
  • You have not been adjudicated delinquent for an act committed on or after April 21, 1994, that if committed by an adult in this state would be a felony.
  • You have not been committed to treatment and ordered not to possess a firearm.
  • You have not found not guilty or not responsible for a crime elsewhere that would be a felony in this state by reason of insanity or mental illness, disease or defect.
  • You have not been adjudicated delinquent for an act committed on or after April 21, 1994, that if committed by an adult in this state would be a felony.
  • Federal Law Requirements
cost of
$0
Cww permit
Years Permit
0
is valid

Wisconsin: Places Off-Limits for CWL

wisconsin state flag
Wisconsin state flag

Places Off-Limits in Wisconsin

  • Building that is a police station, sheriff’s office, state patrol station.
  • Prison, jail, house of correction, or secured correctional facility.
  • Secure mental health facility for sexually violent Persons.
  • Wisconsin Resource Center.
  • Secured unit of a mental health institute, including a facility designated as the Maximum Security Facility at Mendota Mental Health Institute.
  • County, state, or federal courthouse.
  • Municipal courtroom if court is in session.
  • Beyond a security checkpoint in an airport.
  • School grounds or within 1000 feet of a school. This applies to elementary school, middle school, junior high school, senior high school, or high school- public or private. You can be within 1000ft of a school if you have a CCW license.
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Places Allowed in Wisconsin

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state - except those listed as off limits

Pointers: Wisconsin Gun Laws

Who can own a gun in Wisconsin?
When you can use your gun

Wisconsin Concealed Carry Laws

wisconsin state capitol building
Wisconsin state capitol building

Wisconsin Gun Laws To Know

YES/NO - Without a permit

The Wisconsin Supreme Court on 4/10/18 ruled that a person must have a permit that is valid in Wisconsin to carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle. If you do not have a permit you can still carry a handgun in a vehicle if it is visible. That means above the window line and not concealed in any manner.

The Law
167.31
948.605

NO - Must Inform Officer

Nothing in Wisconsin gun laws say that you need to disclose to a police officer that you are carrying a concealed weapon. However, if the officer requests documentation then the law says you must show him your license and photo ID.

"A licensee shall have with him or her, during all times he or she is carrying a concealed weapon, his or her license document, photographic identification card, and, if the licensee is a military resident, his or her military license."

YES
Open carry is legal without a license if you are at least 18 years old and allowed to possess a firearm.
YES

Wisconsin gun laws give the force of law to “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. To be legally enforceable the signs must be 5"x 7" and clearly state the type of gun and carry that is prohibited.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons" sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

The Law
943.13
YES
You are permitted to carry in the following areas;
  • State Parks:       YES - DNR FAQs for firearms and 29.089
  • State/National Forests:     YES - DNR FAQs for firearms
  • State Wildlife Management Areas:     YES - DNR FAQs for firearms and 29.091
  • Road Side Rest Areas:     YES

YES
In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol

"Yes" or "No" states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. In Wisconsin any person can legally carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol, even if there is a bar in the restaurant.

If you enter an establishment that makes more than 51% of its income from selling alcohol such as a bar or tavern you are required to have a CCL license. However, if you have a CCL then you are not permitted to drink in these establishments.

NO
Wisconsin is not regarded as a constitutional carry state however it does have permitless carry if the weapon is carried openly.
"The people have the right to keep and bear arms for security, defense, hunting, recreation or any other lawful purpose" (Art. I, 25)
no weapons sign in wisconsin

Wisconsin Off-Limit Statutes

Other Wisconsin Statutes

For information on other states handgun laws please go back to the state laws page and select the state you are interested in.

Other Gun Laws in Wisconsin

There are no background checks required on private gun sales. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun. There is also no requirement to register guns or to obtain a purchase permit.

Wisconsin CCW FAQ's

frequently asked questions on wisconsin gun laws

Wisconsin CWL Contact

Wisconsin Department of Justice

Hours


Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact


Address 17 W. Main St.

CityMadison, WI 53703

Phone (608) 266-1221

 

Updates & Data Sources

65
Leave a Reply

avatar
30 Comment threads
35 Thread replies
2 Followers
 
Most reacted comment
Hottest comment thread
47 Comment authors
BrianLeupoldmanErSwnnDavidStephan Gonyo Recent comment authors
newest oldest most voted
Brian
Guest
Brian

I don’t have a felony but had a arstaning ordered till 2024 I hunt and fish i was seen if I can still hunt with my shot gun any info I live in Wisconsin

Leupoldman
Guest
Leupoldman

I’m OTR hotshot trucker. What about a pistol grip shotgun loaded when your parked?

David
Guest
David

If I’m walking my dog in the city of Milwaukee and my dog is attacked by a coyote, am I allowed to draw and shoot?

Stephan Gonyo
Guest
Stephan Gonyo

In Wisconsin can a retired Police officer from Illinois carry concealed without a permit?

Chia
Guest
Chia

CAn i go to a nonfriendly state but unload my handgun and lock it in its case with a wi ccw?

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

No, not if you plan to remain in that state beyond passing through to a better state. The FOPA (Firearm Owners Protection Act), a federal law, permits one to travel through another state with a firearm provided the firearm is in a locked case, unloaded, and ammunition is in a separate locked case. You may not stop for anything besides essential needs….food, gas, medical etc. A side trip to Aunt Becky’s or The National String Museum is not permissible. You may also secure lodging if necessary and may even load the weapon inside the room, such lodging has the protection… Read more »

Steve
Guest
Steve

I had an involuntary stay at a behavioral clinic for alcoholism a few months ago, they never said anything to me about firearms but am I no longer allowed to purchase/own one? If so, can this be expunged? I’ve been perfectly fine for a while now

Carl tomas
Guest
Carl tomas

I am not a lawyer but the law seems to say that if your not currently addicted to drugs or alcohol you should be alright. I would give your sobriety a little longer and make sure you are completely sober… And you should be alright. Just take it seriously and don’t ever mix alcohol and carrying a gun. Hope that helps.

Carl tomas
Guest
Carl tomas

Your best bet might be to call the Wisconsin doj or local police just to ask if your ok to own a firearm. Quite a few people are in your position. It’s better to know for sure than break the law. There is nothing wrong with asking!

Carl tomas
Guest
Carl tomas

The only thing I’m unsure about is the involuntary commitment. If it was voluntetsry I think your alright… But I’m not sure about an involuntary.

ErSWnn
Guest
ErSWnn

You are prohibited from possession of a firearm. This doesn’t mean just purchase. You can’t even hold your buddy’s gun while he ties his shoelace. Yes, you can get this expunged but it takes time and money….and the good graces of the government. BTW, “expunged” isn’t the correct term and the actual term eludes me at this time but a lawyer will have it correct. There are lawyers who specialize in these case, seek one of those. As others advised, it’s early in this process given the “a few months ago” aspect but there is no harm in beginning the… Read more »

Jerome
Guest
Jerome

Can you have a hand gun on your side in a parking lot or anywhere on the property of a dmv office if not inside the building?

Mrs otto
Guest
Mrs otto

Can my neighbor shoot his BB gun outside his condo unit at deer?

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

No. So many laws are being broken with that I can’t even figure where to begin. Were I a LEO I’d begin with animal cruelty and keep going until I have assured society this person will never own any sort of weapon. Only because it would be illegal for me to beat him into a coma.

Kyle
Guest
Kyle

Can i openly carry a loaded handgun in my vehicle while the engine is running?

ZACHARY RYSKIEWICZ
Guest
ZACHARY RYSKIEWICZ

From what I read, you cannot open carry in your vehicle unless you have a CCW License. But also, you can open carry in a vehicle if your handgun is unloaded (The weapon is unloaded by not having a round in the chamber also the magazine is not in the handgun itself) hope this helps

John Caver
Guest
John Caver

Right it’s concealed at that point

Michael Scalf
Guest
Michael Scalf

Any loaded weapon in a vehicle is considered concealed. Whether it is in the glove box, on the seat, on the dash. In the vehicle loaded it is concealed. Fortunatley unlock some states it does not have to be on your person. I carry mine in a tac pack and then holster it when i get out of my truck

Bill
Guest
Bill

Wrong. Did you read the statute?

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

Wrong. One may open carry in a vehicle without a license provided the gun is above the window line AND visible. In other words, on the dash or rear sill. Now to be exact, I am talking about Wisconsin law and only Wisconsin law.

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

I sure hope you’re not carrying yet because at present you don’t have the brains required to use this right in a responsible manner. Seriously, go study up on the laws….and get in some quality time at a local range with someone with knowledge of how carry works. The fact you asked this question tells me you have done zero research on the subject.

Carrying is a grave endeavor, one that is to be honored by knowing the law. Act responsibly with this right…..all your actions reflect on all of us.

tom
Guest
tom

To the famelies of Abby Perlman, Brette Polin and Jonny Lichtenstein your children got involved in dangerous business with crazy CBS anchor Otis Livingston to steal money from some pr companies becareful if we will catch them they will go to jail !!!!!!!!!!

tom
Guest
tom

To the famelies of Abby Perlman, Brette Polin and Jonny Lichtenstein your children got involved in dangerous business with crazy CBS anchor Otis Livingston to steal money from some pr companies becareful if we will catch them they will go to jail !!!!!!!!!!

Jay Sormrude
Guest
Jay Sormrude

I was reading the new law passed in April of 2018 on hand guns in your vehicle and cant be within 1,000 feet of a school, how is that possible, if your in your car picking up your kid, u are within 1,000 feet.

MATTHEW
Guest
MATTHEW

The way myself and others in our CCW circle understand this is the following: if you are not a CCW holder, you cannot drive even within a thousand square feet of a school with an accessible loaded handgun in your car. It would need to be secured and unloaded. Meaning, if you got a speeding ticket 500 feet from the school that’s a problem for you now. The exception and there is one that doesn’t state until you read way down inside that statute, that if you are a CCW holder you can keep the gun in your car within… Read more »

Bill Packard
Guest
Bill Packard

Ok, back on April 9 2016. I had a temporary domestic abuse restraining order that was changed to harassment restraining order for 4 years. Am I able to get a concealed weapon carry in Wisconsin.

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

No.

Richard
Guest
Richard

Can I carry my TAC 14 loaded and concealed in my truck? It’s not a shoutgun, and follows the same paper work as a handgun.

John RAUHAUSER
Guest
John RAUHAUSER

Not being facetious so…how is a Rem 870 TAC 14 not a shotgun? According to Rem’s website it is (only) available in 12 or 20 gauge. Even if it was only loaded with slugs, I’m pretty sure the ATF would classify it as a shotgun.

David Pfisthner
Guest
David Pfisthner

I have an Arizona conceal carry permit but live in wisconsin. Am I legally allowed to conceal carry in wisconsin?

liam
Guest
liam

yes i am very sure since Wisconsin honors an Arizona permit.

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

Incorrect. If one is a resident of WI then they must have a WI license.

Jacob
Guest
Jacob

Yes because Wisconsin honors ur states permit but u should have a Wisconsin permit if ur a resident of the state

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

If you are a resident of WI you need a WI carry license. If you are part time….spend less than half your year in WI…. then your AZ is valid in WI under reciprocity laws.

DJ Osterberg
Guest
DJ Osterberg

You can in fact do your training online. I took a hunter safety course online and that was used to apply for my CCW.

J Kolmos
Guest
J Kolmos

I was just gifted a glock 19 and own a outside belt holster for it, I am also in the army but not 21, am i able to open carry my handgun as long as it is visible, or do i have to be 21 to open carry a pistol?

Rick
Guest
Rick

“Open carry is legal without a permit/license if you are at least 18 years old and allowed to possess a firearm. However, if you want to openly carry a handgun in a vehicle you will need a CWL license.“

MATTHew
Guest
MATTHew

Legal or not with open carry thing. You really just don’t want to be that guy though. Highly recommend against it.

ErSwnn
Guest
ErSwnn

Stay out of the carry advice portion of this. He’s old enough to decide for himself what method of carry he prefers. I do not OC but fully support the right to do so.

Dave
Guest
Dave

I have had my CCL for some time now. Shortly after I took the course I was informed of a different course that was available that stated”carry in any state”. I know that yes, the course I took didn’t make us actually fire the weapon, just load and unload the weapon. What am I missing here? How would my CCL look/be any different?

Jayce aslakson
Guest
Jayce aslakson

This is what it is .In wi u dont do a live fire exercise ….. So mn does not except your permit. u have to live fire in MN to get your permit. So u go take a class in MN do a live fire course and pass it. than apply in any county of MN since your not a resident …. Residents of Mn can only go to sheriff Dept in the county they live . Bam they approve your application U now have mn and all the states that have reciprocity with them. I would look up Chandler’s… Read more »

Tracy Williams
Guest
Tracy Williams

Can a Wisconsin felon visit a home that has guns

Darien Long
Guest
Darien Long

That woman was walking out the door. She was not a threat to anyone.