IOWA GUN LAWS
Concealed Carry Guide

iowa state seal

QUICK FACTS

Carry In Vehicle SEE DETAILS
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks Allowed YES
No Weapons Signs Enforced NO
Open Carry PermittedSEE DETAILS
Carry In Liquor Establishments YES
Constitutional Carry NO

Permit Information


Iowa gun laws operate on a “Shall Issue” basis. There are two types of permit available. Residents apply at the county level for a Non-Professional permit. They must be 21 years or older and apply at the sheriff's office in their county of residence. Non-residents must apply at the state level for a Professional permit. They must be 18 years or older and apply at the Department of Public Safety. Non-residents must also demonstrate a need for a permit such as owning a business or property in Iowa or frequent travel.

states that
0
honor an iowa permit
There Are
0
Options

CCW Reciprocity Map

iowa

CCW permit recognition
  • Permit honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Residential permit only
  • Non-Professional permit only
  • Issuing state


RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

NON-RESIDENT
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Nebraska will only honor the Iowa Non-Professional permit and not the Iowa Professional Permit.

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands

Permits/Licenses

Iowa is a “shall issue” state.
Non-resident permits available.
The permit is valid for 5 years.

There are two types of permits available;
Non-professional – issued to residents
Professional – issued to non-residents, security gaurds

  • Must be at least 18 years of age for a Professional permit.
  • Must be at least 21 years of age for a Non-Professional permit.
  • You must complete a firearms training course.
  • You have no pending charges.
  • You have no felony convictions.
  • You have no outstanding arrest warrants.
  • You have not been convicted in any court within the previous three years of a serious or aggravated misdemeanor not involving a firearm or explosives for which the court could have imprisoned you for more than one year, even if you received a shorter sentence including probation.
  • There is no probable cause to believe you may likely to use a weapon unlawfully or in such other manner as would endanger the person’s self or others based on your actions in the last two years.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. Decide on what permit you want;
    • Non-Professional, issued by the Sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence
    • Professional, issued by the Department of Public Safety
  2. Complete a firearms training course.
  3. Download the application under the FORMS tab or pickup from your Sheriffs office.
  4. You will need the following documents;
    • Photocopy of firearms training certificate
    • Drivers license
    • Completed application form
  5. Apply in person at your local county Sheriffs office.
  6. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

New Permits: $50
Renewal: $25
Duplicate: $25

NOTE
Sheriff’s Offices that offer wallet size permit cards typically charge an additional fee to defray the cost of producing the permit cards.

  • iowa concealed carry application form

WITH CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT

Where You Cannot Carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed below

Where You Cannot Carry

  • Weapons Free Zones (1000ft within school or public park)
  • Public or private schools, colleges
  • School bus
  • Public parks
  • Casino
  • Iowa state fairgrounds
  • Campus of the three state universities
  • State buildings on the capitol complex
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Details on Iowa Gun Laws

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the Department of Public Safety. Applications are submitted to the sheriff of the county you reside in.
30 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 30 days of the application being received.
NOMust Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in Iowa gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are legally required to carry the permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
NO
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Iowa gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned in the law as being off limits.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

YES/NO – Without a Permit/License
{highlight]You must have a permit to carry a loaded firearm. [/highlight]If you do no have a permit then the handgun must be unloaded and inside a closed and fastened container that is too large to be concealed on the person. Or inside a cargo or luggage compartment where the handgun will not be readily accessible to any person riding in the vehicle.
With a permit you can carry concealed in a vehicle.
YES/NO – Without a Permit/License
Open carry is legal in Iowa but there are restrictions and it is not common. The minimum age to open carry is 21. You will need a permit to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle and cities.
YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
YES

Concealed carry of firearms is permitted in state parks.

Get in Touch


Department of Public Safety
Weapons Permits

Hours


Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact


Address 215 East 7th Street

CityDes Moines, IA 50319-0045

Phone (515) 725-6230

Email wpinfo@dps.state.ia.us

Leave a Comment