NEW MEXICO GUN LAWS
Concealed Carry Guide

new mexico state seal

QUICK FACTS

Carry In Vehicle YES
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks AllowedYES
No Weapons Signs Enforced YES
Open Carry Permitted YES
Carry In Liquor Establishments YES
Constitutional Carry NO

Permit Information


New Mexico gun laws are some of the least restrictive in the United States. The State operates on a “Shall Issue” policy. Permits are not issued to non-residents but your out-of-state permit can be transferred over to a New Mexico one. Open carry is legal without a permit but you will need a permit to conceal carry. Applicants for a permit must be 21 or older, completed a firearms training course, and meet other criteria.

states that
0
honor a new mexico permit
state permits
0
new mexico honors

CCW Reciprocity Map

new mexico

CCW license recognition
  • Permit honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Issuing state


Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming

Idaho – New Mexico will only honor Idaho’s Enhanced Permits.

Permits/Licenses

New Mexico is a “shall issue” state.
Residents only.
The permit is valid for 4 years.

  • Must be 21 years of age or older.
  • A citizen of the United States.
  • Complete a firearms training course.
  • A resident of New Mexico or is a member of the armed forces whose permanent duty station is located in New Mexico.
  • You are not a fugitive from justice.
  • You have not been convicted of a felony in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction.
  • You are not currently under indictment for a felony criminal offense in New Mexico or any other state or pursuant to the laws of the United States or any other jurisdiction.
  • You are not otherwise prohibited by federal law or the law of any other jurisdiction from purchasing or possessing a firearm.
  • You have not been adjudicated mentally incompetent or committed to a mental institution.
  • You are not addicted to alcohol or controlled substances.
  • You have satisfactorily completed a firearms training course.
  • You have not received a;
    1. conditional discharge, a diversion or a deferment or been convicted of, pled guilty to or entered a plea of nolo contendere to a misdemeanor offense involving a crime of violence within the ten year period preceding application;
    2. been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or drugs within five years immediately preceding the application for a concealed handgun license;
    3. been convicted within the ten year period preceding application of a misdemeanor offense involving the possession or abuse of a controlled substance; or
    4. been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving assault, battery or battery against a household member.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Follow these steps to obtain a permit

  1. Complete a firearms training course.
  2. Go to your local Police or Sheriff to get fingerprinted
  3. Gather all the documents required;
    • Two fingerprint cards
    • Certified original copy of your birth certificate, must be issued by vital statistics
      in the state in which you were born, no photocopies,
    • Copy of certificate of completion of firearms training,
    • Copy of New Mexico Driver’s License or Identification Card,
    • Release forms and any other supporting documentation.
  4. Send your application and supporting documents to;
  5. NM Department of Public Safety
    SID/Concealed Carry Unit
    6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310
    Albuquerque, NM 87110

  6. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

New Permits: $100
Renewal: $75

  • new mexico concealed carry application form

WITH CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT

Where You Can Carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed below

Where You Cannot Carry

  • Public schools, colleges and universities, except in a vehicle if older than 19
  • Preschools
  • Law enforcement agency facilities
  • Courts, any State, County, Municipal or Tribal Court
  • State wild life management areas
  • Tribal land
  • Public buses
  • Airport security zones
  • On private property where the owner has posted signs indicating that you may not carry or if the owner tells you that you cannot
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Details on New Mexico Gun Laws

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the New Mexico Department of Public Safety.

NM Department of Public Safety,
SID/Concealed Carry Unit,
6301 Indian School Rd. NE Suite 310,
Albuquerque, NM 87110

30 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 30 days of the application being received.
N – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is no mention in New Mexico gun laws that you need to inform Law enforcement you are carrying a concealed firearm. But by law you must have your permit on you at all times you are carrying a firearm and produce this to an officer if requested.
YES
New Mexico gun laws give the force of law to “No Weapons” signs. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

YES – Without a Permit/License
New Mexico law allows a person who is not otherwise prohibited to have a concealed loaded firearm in his/her vehicle (including motorcycles and bicycles). If you are not licensed to carry concealed in this State or in a state that New Mexico recognizes, you may not have the weapon concealed on your person when you exit your vehicle.
YES – Without a Permit/License
You are legally entitled to open carry in New Mexico without a permit and open carry is common in this state. Without a permit you cannot enter a place that sells alcohol.
YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
You can enter the restaurant if it sells only beer or wine, if they sell hard liquor then carry is not permitted. If “No Carry” signs are posted or you are told by staff then you may not enter the restaurant with a firearm.
YES
You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, and roadside rest areas. WMA’s are off limits.

Get in Touch


Department of Public Safety
Concealed Handgun Unit

Hours


Monday – Friday 8am – 5pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact


Address 6301 Indian School Rd NE

CityAlbuquerque, NM 87110

Phone (505) 841-8053

Email [email protected]

Leave a Comment