OHIO GUN LAWSConcealed Carry Guide
OHIO GUN LAWS
Concealed Carry Guide
Ohio CCW Handgun Licenses
- Ohio CCW Handgun License Requirements
- How to Apply for an Ohio CCW Handgun License
- Ohio CCW Handgun License Renewals
- Ohio CCW Handgun License Fee's
- Must be at least 21 years old
- You have completed an approved firearms training class of 8 hours
- Non-Residents: If you live in another state you must be employed in Ohio
- You must not have had a concealed carry license issued by another state suspended
- You must not have been convicted of, pleaded guilty to, or adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a violation of section 2919.25 of the Revised Code (Domestic violence) or a similar violation in another state
- You must not be under indictment, be charged with, or convicted of any felony
- You also must not be under indictment, charged with, or convicted of an offense that involves trafficking in drugs, a misdemeanor offense of violence, or negligent assault.
- In addition, you must not have been convicted, pleaded guilty, or been adjudicated as delinquent in connection with a crime that involves the illegal use, sale, possession, administration, distribution, or trafficking of a drug of abuse.
- You cannot have been convicted, pleaded guilty, or been adjudicated as delinquent for assaulting a peace officer
- You must not, within three years of your application, have been convicted, pleaded guilty, or been adjudicated as delinquent in connection with a misdemeanor offense of violence
- You may not obtain a license if you have been charged with falsification of a concealed handgun license
- You must not be subject to a civil protection order or a temporary protection order of an Ohio court or a similar protection order issued by another state
- You must not have been convicted, pleaded guilty, or been adjudicated as delinquent in connection with two or more assaults or negligent assaults within five years of your application
- You must not have been convicted, pleaded guilty, or adjudicated as delinquent in connection with resisting arrest within 10 years of your application. If you are charged with an offense during the application process, the sheriff can suspend your application until your case is resolved
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Follow these steps to obtain a permit
- Complete your firearm training course, 8 hours required.
- Download the application under the FORMS tab.
- You will need the following documents;
- Completed application form
- Copies of firearms training certificate
- Passport size color photo, taken within last 30 days
- A money order or cashiers check for $67
- Present these to your local sheriff’s office.
- Your fingerprints will be taken.
- You will be notified within 45 days by mail if your application has been approved or denied.
Non-Residents can only apply for a CCW license if they are employed in Ohio
To renew a CCW license you must have the following items:
- Application can be submitted no sooner than 90 days prior to the expiration of your current CCW license or anytime after the expiration of your current CCW license.
- Renewal applications are made on the new application form, tick the renewal box.
- You must be at least 21 years of age, be a legal resident of the United States, be an Ohio resident for at least 45 days and a resident of Allen, Auglaize, Hancock, Hardin, Putnam or Van Wert County for 30 days prior to filing your renewal application.
- Application fee, no Credit or Debit Cards will not be accepted. This fee is non-refundable, even if you stop the application process for any reason.
- You must have your completed application. Do not sign the application until you present it to the office. You will sign it there in the presence of the Sheriff’s Office Notary.
- You must have a valid original license.
- If you were found at one time to be mentally incompetent, or were involuntarily hospitalized or institutionalized for other than observation, you must have a certificate of remission.
- You must have your fingerprints electronically scanned through the WebCheck system, or a 10 print fingerprint card if WebCheck is unavailable.
- You must also provide a valid picture identification card (driver’s license, state identification card, retired law enforcement or corrections identification card or military identification card only).
- If your license has expired, you are prohibited from carrying a concealed weapon until you receive your renewal license from the Sheriff.
To renew your license you must still be employed in Ohio.
If you are no longer employed in Ohio then your CCW license is valid until the expiry date.
|Application Conditions||Resident in Ohio||Original||Renewal||Temporary|
|Individual ||More than 5 years||$67||$50||$37|
|Individual||Less than 5 years||$91||$74||$61|
Accepted Forms Of Payment
Money order, Cashier’s check, Certified bank check
Concealed Carry License
CCW Reciprocity Map
CCW license recognition
State Reciprocity List
Districts & Territories
District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands
Pointers: Ohio Gun Laws
CCW Permit Forms
Download Your Forms
Where Can I Conceal Carry?
Places CCW Carry is Off-Limits
Places CCW Carry is Allowed
Details on Ohio Gun Laws
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 45 days of the application being received.
Ohio gun laws say – If a person is stopped for a law enforcement purpose and is carrying a concealed handgun as a CCW licensee, whether in a motor vehicle or not, he shall promptly inform the law enforcement officer that he is carrying a concealed handgun. If in a vehicle, the licensee shall remain in the vehicle and keep his hands in plain sight at all times and have no contact with the firearm.
Ohio gun laws give “No Weapons” signs the force of law. There are legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs.
GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
Without a permit/license you may not have a loaded handgun in the vehicle. Motorcycles fall under the definition of motor vehicles. You can still carry a gun in the vehicle if it is unloaded and carried in a closed box, trunk or in plain sight and secured in a rack or holder made for the purpose.
A concealed handgun license holder may transport a loaded, concealed handgun in a motor vehicle.
Open carry in Ohio is legal without any permit/license. You will need a permit to carry a loaded firearm in a vehicle.
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
Ohio CCW Links
Get in Touch
FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF
Monday – Friday 7am – 5pm
Address 410 South High St.
CityColumbus, Ohio 43215
Phone (614) 525-5090
Email [email protected]
Updates & Data
|10/12/17||Updated Ohio page, added new sections to statistics page|
|10/5/17||Added video section to Florida page|
|10/3/17||Updated Nevada page|
|10/2/17||Updated Georgia page|
|9/30/17||Updated Texas page|
|9/30/17||Entered new figures for latest 2017 NICS checks on Statistics page|
|9/29/17||Updated Pennsylvania page|
|9/26/17||Updated Florida page, added new links, forms and sections|
|7/22/17||updated permit numbers to latest figures|
|6/29/17||Updated permit numbers to 14,917,279|
|6/17/17||updated interface, added new travel info and other sections.|
- Crime Prevention Research Center
- Ohio Attorney General
- Ohio concealed carry laws