PENNSYLVANIA GUN LAWS
Concealed Carry Guide
Pennsylvania Firearm License
- Pennsylvania CCW License Requirements
- Applying for a Pennsylvania CCW License
- Pennsylvania CCW Firearm License Renewals
- Pennsylvania CCW Firearm License Fee's
- The applicant must be 21 years of age or older with a picture I.D. for proof
- The applicant must be a resident of County application is filed it for at least 90 days
- The application must have no criminal convictions.
- The applicant must be of good character and reputation; acting in a manner that will not be dangerous to public safety.
- You are not a habitual drunkard or addicted to or user of marijuana or a stimulant, depressant or narcotic drug.
- Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons
Follow these steps to obtain a permit
- Download the application form.
- You will need two references, not family members.
- Take the application with a drivers license or State ID to the Sheriffs office in the county you reside in.
- Fill out the form and pay the fee of $20.
- You will be notified within 45 days if your application has been approved or denied.
- If approved you will need to pickup your permit/license from the Sheriffs office.
Montgomery County Sheriff’s Department
– You will need to COME IN – IN PERSON to the Court House in Norristown with the following:
- Pennsylvania Drivers License and/or Pennsylvania I.D. Card with your Montgomery County address.
- If renewing, applicant must remember to supply names, addresses and telephone numbers of two (2) references (not immediate family.)
- Local Police check card must be signed by your local police department (New Applicants).
- $25.00 or $46.00 cash, check or money order (No Credit/Debit cards accepted.)
- Foreign-born applicants who are U.S. Citizens must supply Passport or Naturalization Paperwork.
- Foreign-born applicants who are not U.S. Citizens must provide proof of immigration status and ninety (90) days proof of residency (i.e. 3 months of utility bills).
Note: Applicants with expired permits more than 60 days old will be considered new applicants.
You have the following 2 types of permits to choose from:
- Hard Plastic, similar to drivers license, $46.00, you do not need to supply photo for this option.
- Laminated paper permit with photo attached, $25.00 You must supply 2 official passport photographs to obtain this permit.
ALL APPLICANTS WILL HAVE A BACKGROUND CHECK RUN THROUGH THE PENNSYLVANIA INSTANT CHECK SYSTEM BEFORE ANY PERMIT IS ISSUED.
Office hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30am to 4:15pm for picking up applications.
Processing hours are Monday through Friday, 8:30am to 3:30pm.
Permits cannot be processed unless all of the above requirements are met.
Money order, Cash, Personal check
Pennsylvania License Data
CCW Reciprocity Map
CCW license recognition
State Reciprocity List
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
RESIDENTIAL PERMITS ONLY
Arizona, Florida, Mississippi, Utah, Virginia
ND CLASS 1 PERMITS ONLY
CCW Permit Forms
Download Your Forms
Pointers: Pennsylvania Gun Laws
Where Can I Conceal Carry?
Places CCW Carry is Off-Limits
Places CCW Carry is Allowed
Details on Pennsylvania Gun Laws
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 45 days of the application being received.
There is nothing in Pennsylvania gun laws that state you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. You are legally required to carry your permit at all times during which the permittee is in actual possession of a concealed handgun.
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in Pennsylvania gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.
GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.
Any person who carries a firearm concealed on or about his person except in his place of abode or fixed place of business without a valid and lawfully issued license commits a felony of the third degree. There are exceptions listed on the state website. Also, Federal law allows transportation of a firearm if it is unloaded and neither the firearm or ammunition is readily accessible.
With a permit/license you can carry a loaded concealed handgun in a vehicle.
Open carry is legal if a person is 18 or older and legally allowed to possess a firearm. You will need a permit/license to open carry in a vehicle or the city of Philadelphia.
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
You are permitted to carry in state parks (License is required to conceal carry in State Parks), state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.
Pennsylvania CCW Links
Get in Touch
Philadelphia County sheriff
Monday – Friday 8:30am – 4pm
Address 100 South Broad St. #5
CityPhiladelphia, PA 19110
Phone (215) 686-3565
Updates & Data
|10/12/17||Updated Ohio page, added new sections to statistics page|
|10/5/17||Added video section to Florida page|
|10/3/17||Updated Nevada page|
|10/2/17||Updated Georgia page|
|9/30/17||Updated Texas page|
|9/30/17||Entered new figures for latest 2017 NICS checks on Statistics page|
|9/29/17||Updated Pennsylvania page|
|9/26/17||Updated Florida page, added new links, forms and sections|
|7/22/17||updated permit numbers to latest figures|
|6/29/17||Updated permit numbers to 14,917,279|
|6/17/17||updated interface, added new travel info and other sections.|
Corporal Adam Reed, Pennsylvania State Police
Pennsylvania Statutes Title 18