Permitless Carry States

In Gun Laws by Wayne1 Comment

Permitless Carry States

For permitless carry laws to apply the person carrying the handgun must be in a place they are legally allowed to be in.
- Permitless carry
- Shall Issue
- May Issue
Permitless
0
States
May issue
0
states

Permitless Carry

21
States
No permit required in these states
Alaska3

Arizona3
Arkansas3
Iowa3
Idaho1
Kansas3
Kentucky3
Maine3
Mississippi1
Missouri2
Montana1
New Hampshire1
North Dakota1
Oklahoma3
South Dakota1
Tennesse3
Texas3
Utah3
Vermont1
West Virginia3
Wyoming3


  1. Must be at least 18 years old.
  2. Must be at least 19 years old.
  3. Must be at least 21 years old.
alaska gun laws state seal

Required Age

20 years or older

   Effective Date

    September 9, 2003

Statute

AS 11.61.220

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under Alaska and federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Alaska.
arizona state seal

Required Age

21 years or older

Effective Date

July 29, 2010

Statute

AS 13-3102

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under Arizona and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Arizona.

Restrictions

If you enter a premises that serves alcohol for consumption on the premises then Arizona law requires you to have a permit from any state.

arkansas state seal

Required Age

20 years or older

Effective Date

August 16, 2013

Statute

5.73.120

Overview

Initially there was some confusion over the permitless carry law in Arkansas. A court ruling in 2018 confirmed permitless carry in Arkansas. If a person is 18 years or older and in the Military, National Guard, Reserve or is a discharged veteran then they can carry a concealed handgun without a permit. For any person that is not in the military then they must be 21 or older.
iowa gun laws

Required Age

21 years or older

Effective Date

September 9, 2003

Statute

724.5 - Availability of permit not to be construed as prohibition on unlicensed carrying of weapons.

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Iowa.
Image

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

July 1, 2016 - Amended July 2019 & July 2020

Statute

18-3302 - Concealed Weapons

Overview

Persons aged 18 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under Idaho and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without any type of permit in the State of Idaho.

Image

Required Age

21 years or older, 18 if in the military

Effective Date

July 1, 2015

Statute

21-6302 - Criminal carrying of a weapon

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older or if in the military 18 or older and who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under Kansas and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Kansas.
Image

Required Age

21 years or older

Effective Date

June 27, 2019

Statute

237.109 - Authorization to carry concealed deadly weapons without a license.

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under Kentucky and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Kentucky.
Image

Required Age

21 years or older

Effective Date

October 12, 2015

Statute

252 2001-A Threatening display of or carrying concealed weapon

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older or 18 if in the military who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under Maine and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Maine.

Restrictions

Holders of a permit issued by Maine or other states that Maine honors can carry in some places that persons carrying under permit-less carry are not legally allowed to carry in.
Image

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

July 1, 2015

Statute

§ 97.37.1 - Deadly weapons

Overview

Persons aged 18 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Mississippi.
Image

Required Age

19 years or older, 18 if in military

Effective Date

January 1, 2017

Statute

571.030 - Unlawful use of weapons

Overview

Persons aged 19 and older or who is 18 or older and in the military and are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Missouri.
Image

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

February 18, 2021

Statute

45.8.316 - Carrying concealed firearms - exemption

Overview

Persons aged 18 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Montana.
Image

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

February 22, 2017

Statute

§ 159:6 - License to Carry

Overview

Persons aged 18 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of New Hampshire.
Image

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

August 1, 2017

Statute

§ 62.1.03.01 - Carrying handgun

Overview

Persons aged 18 and older, who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of North Dakota, if they have been a resident of North Dakota for at least one month. You will need a drivers license or State ID to prove you have been a resident for the required period.

Restrictions

Permitless carry only applies to North Dakota residents. There is no permitless open carry.
Image

Required Age

21 years or older, 18 if in the military

Effective Date

November 1, 2019

Statute

§ 21 53 O.S. 1272

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older or 18 and older if in the US Military, National Guard, Reserves or honorably discharged veteran and who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Oklahoma.

Restrictions

The handgun can be no bigger than .45 caliber.
Image

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

July 1, 2019

Statute

23.7.7 - Permit to carry concealed pistol

Overview

Persons aged 18 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of South Dakota.

Image

Required Age

21 years or older, 18 if in military

Effective Date

July 1, 2021

Statute

§ 39.17.1307 - Unlawful carrying or possession of a weapon

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry openly or concealed a handgun without a permit in the State of Tennessee.

Restrictions

There are still places in Tennessee that require a permit to carry.
Image

Required Age

21 years or older

Effective Date

September 1, 2021

Statute

Texas Penal Code 46.02

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Texas.

Image

Required Age

21 years or older

Effective Date

May 5, 2021

Statute

§ 76.10.523

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry openly or concealed a handgun without a permit in the State of Utah.
arizona state seal

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

March 4, 1791

Statute

085.1.4003 - Carrying dangerous weapons

Overview

Persons aged 18 or older who is legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Vermont. This state has never had a law saying that carrying a concealed handgun is illegal.

Image

Required Age

18 years or older

Effective Date

May 26, 2016

Statute

§ 61.7.7 - Persons prohibited from possessing firearms

Overview

Persons aged 18 and older who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of West Virginia.

Restrictions

You cannot carry a handgun onto school property unless you have a permit issued by West Virginia or a permit from another state that is honoured by West Virginia.
Image

Required Age

21 years or older

Effective Date

July 1, 2021

Statute

6.8.104 - Wearing or carrying concealed weapons

Overview

Persons aged 21 and older and who are legally allowed to possess a handgun under State and Federal law can carry a concealed handgun without a permit in the State of Wyoming.

Restrictions

Must be a resident of the USA.

Comments

  1. Enjoy your site. Has lots of good info. Longtime long gun owner here but never got a permit because I didn’t own a handgun until this past year.

    Any info on crimes in TX after permit-less carry was implemented? Might be too soon to show any impact. But your data clearly shows crime is almost nonexistent by permit holders in past years.

    Has revenue from permits went down? Seems like that money could do some good with training, etc.

    Thanks

Leave a Comment