Statistics on Concealed Carry
The definitive checklist for all the statistics on concealed carry data you need in 2017.
Get the latest figures and facts from the Federal Government on NICS background checks.
Concealed Carry Permits By State
Statistics on Concealed Carry Permits Issued
Concealed Carry Permit Numbers by State
Which States Have The Most Permit Users?
States With The Highest Permit Users
Gun Ownership Notes
Statistics on concealed carry permit data cannot be considered an accurate measurement of gun ownership. There are three main reasons;
- These figures do not take into account persons who carry handguns in the 14 states that do not require a permit. People usually only obtain a permit in these states for out-of-state travel. Plus the fact no fee’s or training is required probably means these states have some of the highest rates of handgun ownership.
- It is difficult to obtain data from some states. Data in New York and Alabama is not collected at the state level, it is left up to the counties or cities.
- About 687,840 of the permits are “non-residential” which can distort the figures as the holders most often have another permit in their home state.
- Some of the data is over a year old so does take into account recent growth.
With the trend towards permitless concealed carry, it will become more difficult to obtain data on handgun ownership. It is safe to say that the figure of 14.9 million is an underestimate of the total active concealed permits in the United States.
Faster Way To View The Data
|District of Columbia||0.02%|
|Vermont||No Permits issued|
NICS Firearm Background Checks
Background Checks Per Year
Reasons for NICS Denial
Background Checks & Private Gun Sales
Background Checks & Private Gun SalesThere are now 18 states that require a background check for private gun sales. They have basically extended the Federal background check law to include private sales. And at least eight of these states now require background checks at the point of sale for all types of firearms. The states that have this requirement are;
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, District of Columbia.
Two states, Pennsylvania and Maryland limit the check to only handguns. There are four states, Illinois, Hawaii, New Jersey, and Massachusetts that require any person purchasing a firearm to get a permit after a background check. And a further four states, Michigan, Iowa, Nebraska, and North Carolina that have the same requirement but limit it to handguns. You are also required in Illinois to have a background check when a firearm is sold at any gun show.
Under Nevada law unlicensed sellers can request a background check on anyone purchasing a firearm, but it is not mandatory and left up to the discretion of the seller.
Unlicensed sellers are also required by many of these jurisdictions to keep a record of any firearms sales and in some states report to law enforcement any sales of firearms.
Concealed Carry Permit Fees
Comparison of State CCW Permit Fees
|State||Permit Type||Initial Handgun Carry Permit Fee||Length Permit is Valid (years)||Cost to carry for 5 years|
|Alabama||Concealed handgun permit||$5-$30 per year|
Varies by County
|1-5 years (chosen by applicant)||$25-$130
Varies by County
|Alaska||Constitutional carry/permit available for reciprocity||$87||5||$87|
|Arizona||Constitutional carry/permit available for reciprocity||$60.00||5||$60|
|Arkansas||Constitutional carry/permit available for reciprocity||$137 |
$87 (age 65+)
|California||Concealed carry weapons license||$100 plus additional fees. Varies by county.||2||$212|
|Colorado||Concealed handgun permit||$52.50 plus additional fees||5||$52|
|Connecticut||State permit to carry pistols or revolvers||$70.00||5||$70|
|Delaware||License to carry concealed deadly weapon||$65||5||$65|
|District of Columbia||Concealed carry pistol license||$75||2||$225|
|Florida||Concealed weapon or firearm license||$102||7||$102|
|Georgia||Weapons carry license||$75.00 varies by county||5||$75|
|Hawaii||License to carry handgun||$42||1||$210|
|Idaho||Concealed weapons license||$20.00 plus additional fees||5||$20|
|Illinois||Concealed carry license||$150||5||$150|
|Indiana||License to carry handgun||$51.95 or|
|Iowa||Permit to carry weapons||$50.00||5||$50|
|Kansas||Constitutional carry/Concealed carry handgun license available for reciprocity||$132.50||4||$165|
|Kentucky||Carry concealed deadly weapon license||$60.00||5||$60|
|Louisiana||Concealed handgun permit||$125.00 or $500 lifetime||5||$125|
|Maine||Constitutional carry/Concealed handgun permit available for reciprocity.||$35||4||$43|
|Maryland||Handgun wear and carry permit||$75.00 plus fingerprint fees||3||$125|
|Massachusetts||License to carry firearms||$100||6||$100|
|Michigan||Concealed pistol license||$115||4||$143|
|Minnesota||Permit to carry pistol||$100 varies by county||5||$100|
|Mississippi||Constitutional carry/Firearms permit available for reciprocity||$112||5||$112|
|Missouri||Concealed carry permit||$100||5||$100|
|Montana||Concealed carry handgun permit||$60||4||$75|
|Nebraska||Concealed handgun permit||$100||5||$100|
|Nevada||Concealed firearm permit||$96.25||5||$96|
|New Hampshire||Constitutional carry/Pistol & Revolver License available for reciprocity||$10 resident|
|New Jersey||Permit to carry a handgun||$50 plus additional fees||2||$250|
|New Mexico||Concealed handgun license||$100||4||$125|
|New York||Pistol & revolver license||$20 varies by county||5||$20|
|New York City||Handgun license||$340 plus additional fees||3||$566|
|North Carolina||Concealed handgun permit||$80 plus additional fees||5||$80|
|North Dakota||Constitutional carry/Concealed weapons license available for reciprocity||$60||5||$60|
|Ohio||License to carry a concealed handgun||$67||5||$67|
|Oklahoma||Self defense act license||$100 or $200 for 10 years||5||$100|
|Oregon||Concealed handgun license||$65||4||$81|
|Pennsylvania||License to carry firearms||$20||5||$20|
|Rhode Island||License to carry a concealable weapon||$40||4||$50|
|South Carolina||Concealed weapon permit||$50||5||$50|
|South Dakota||Concealed Pistol Permit||$10 or $70 Gold card and $100 enhanced||5||$10|
|Tennessee||Handgun carry permit||$100 or Lifetime $300||8||$62|
|Texas||License to carry a handgun||$140||5||$140|
|Utah||Concealed Firearm Permit||$39||5||$39|
|Vermont||NO PERMITS REQUIRED/has never issued permits||N/A||N/A||0|
|Virginia||Concealed handgun permit||$50.00||5||$50|
|Washington||Concealed pistol license||$36||5||$36|
|West Virginia||Constitutional carry/Concealed pistol & revolver license available for reciprocity||$75 plus additional fee of $25 if approved||5||$100|
|Wisconsin||Concealed weapon license||$40||5||$40|
|Wyoming||Constitutional carry/Concealed firearm permits available for reciprocity||$64||5||$64|
|July 3, 2017||updated permit fees, permit numbers and background check map.|
|July 21, 2017||all permit number figures and population statistics updated to latest 2017 data.|