WEST VIRGINIA GUN LAWS
Concealed Carry Guide

west virginia state seal

West Virginia Pistol License

REQUIREMENTS

  • Must be at least 21 years old or 18 if employed in a job where carrying of firearms is required.
  • Has completed a firearms training course.
  • A United States citizen or legal resident.
  • A resident of West Virginia and the county application is filed in.
  • Is not habitually addicted to alcohol.
  • Is not an unlawful user of or habitually addicted to any controlled substance.
  • Has not been adjudicated to be mentally incompetent or who has been involuntarily committed to a mental institution.
  • Is not subject to a domestic violence protective order.
  • Federal Law – Prohibits the following persons

APPLICATIONS

Follow these steps to obtain a concealed carry permit;

  1. Complete your firearm training course.
  2. Download the application form.
  3. You will need the following documents;
    • Completed application
    • Firearms course certificate
    • Drivers license/ID card
  4. File your application at the Sheriffs office in the county you reside in.
  5. They will contact you when the permit/license is ready to be picked up.

Pistol License application form

RENEWALS

  • When renewing a permit you must take in your current permit and drivers license.
  • The renewal application must be signed in front of a notary.
  • A NICS background check will be done for all renewal applications.

LICENSE FEE’S

New Permits
$75

Renewal
$75

NOTE
Additional fee of $25 if application is approved for a state police background check.
Some Sheriff’s will charge an extra $5 for a driver type concealed handgun license.

QUICK FACTS

Carry In Vehicle YES
Must Notify Officer NO
Carry In State Parks Allowed YES
No Weapons Signs Enforced NO
Open Carry Permitted YES
Carry In Liquor Establishments YES
Constitutional Carry YES

Permit Information


West Virginia gun laws operate on an "Unrestricted" and "Shall Issue" policy and allow concealed and open carry of firearms without a permit. The minimum age for open carry is 18 and for concealed carry 21. The permitless carry laws apply to residents and non-residents who are legally allowed to possess a firearm. Persons aged 18 - 20 will still need a permit to conceal carry. Permits are still available for out-of-state travel but are only issued to residents. Applicants will need to complete a firearms training course and then file their application with the local county sheriff’s office in their county of residence.

states that
0
honor a west virginia permit
state permits
0
west virginia honors

CCW Reciprocity Map

west virginia

CCW license recognition
  • Permit honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Only if issued after 6/8/12
  • Issuing state


Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wyoming

Permitless Carry


Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont and West Virginia have “Permitless Carry.” If you can legally possess a firearm then you may carry it concealed in those states without a Permit/License.

WITH CONCEALED CARRY PERMIT

Where You Can Carry

  • State parks
  • State and national forests
  • Road side rest areas
  • Vehicle
  • All areas of the state – except those listed below

Where You Cannot Carry

  • The State Capitol Complex
  • Regional jails, detention facilities or State Division of Corrections facilities
  • County courthouses or any facility housing a court of this state
  • A school bus or any public primary or secondary education building, structure, facility or grounds including a vocational education building, structure, facility or grounds where secondary vocational education programs are conducted or at a school-sponsored function, or in or on a private primary or secondary education building, structure or facility
  • Any building or area limited by municipal code. Certain municipalities may have further handgun restrictions in municipal code. Before carrying a
    weapon in a West Virginia municipality, it is recommended that you inquire as to such laws with the appropriate city attorney’s office
  • Any property where firearms are prohibited by the owner, lessee or other person charged with the care, custody and control of the real property
  • Wherever signs are posted indicating weapon restrictions
  • Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.

Details on West Virginia Gun Laws

Concealed carry permits/licenses are issued by the County Sheriff.
45 Days
The application for a concealed carry permit/license must be processed within 45 days of the application being received.
NO – Must Inform Officer on Contact By Law
There is nothing in West Virginia gun laws that states you must inform a law enforcement officer you have a firearm when approached on official business. There is also no mention that you must carry your permit/license.

GunsToCarry always recommends that you carry your permit, together with photo ID, at all times during which you are in actual possession of a concealed handgun.

NO
“No Weapons” signs are not mentioned in West Virginia gun laws. There are no legal penalties for entering a private property or business that has posted these signs. They have no force of law unless they are posted in areas that are mentioned by the law as being off limits.

GunsToCarry recommends that you do not enter a property displaying a “No Weapons” sign whether the law is for or against signage. If asked to leave a property and you refuse to do so then you are breaking the law and put yourself at risk of being charged.

YES – Without a Permit/License
If you do not have a permit/license then you must be aged 21 or over and open carry so that the handgun is in plain view while in a vehicle. {highlight]From the police – “recommended that all firearms be unloaded and cased in a location in the vehicle that is not readily accessible to any of the occupants”[/highlight] Members of the military aged 18 and over can carry in a vehicle with their military ID.
YES – Without a Permit/License
Open carrying a handgun without a permit/license in West Virginia is legal. A handgun must be in plain view if you are carrying in a vehicle.
YES – In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol
“Yes” or “No” states if you can carry in a restaurant that serves alcohol. Some restaurants may be posted with “NO GUN” signs. Check with the staff if this means just the bar area. If we have indicated a “Yes” then it should be legal to have a meal without drinking alcohol.
YES
You are permitted to carry in state parks, state forests, WMA’s and roadside rest areas.

Get in Touch

Mongolia County Sheriff

Hours



Monday – Friday 9am – 5pm

Saturday Closed

Sunday Closed


Contact



Address 116 Walnut St.

CityMorgantown, WV 26505

Phone (304) 291-7260

Leave a Comment